PDA

View Full Version : Cross Browser Marquee



holobyted
05-30-2005, 06:26 PM
Hey all. Just wanted to ask if it's possible to make this script use an external file, as I'll be feeding the content from a database and it's a pain to escape for 1 language *and* javascript. (Can be done.. my last resort though)

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex2/cmarquee.htm


Thanks

-h

holobyted
05-30-2005, 06:33 PM
Hrm. How convenient... 1 minute after posting I found a better alternative to the script, which doesn't require that much escaping. However, I'm still interested in knowing whether it's possible or not, just for the sake of knowledge.

Thanks again and sorry for the hassle.


-h

ddadmin
05-30-2005, 09:26 PM
By external file I assume you mean more than just puttng the script in a .js file, but a way for the contents to be served without being put in JavaScript variables (which would require escaping for certain characters)? If so, unfortunately no. You'll need to use a script that fundamentally supports the using of plain HTML contents as its content, such as ProHTML Ticker:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex2/prohtmlticker.htm

ProHTML Ticker is not a scroller but ticker, however.

holobyted
05-30-2005, 10:15 PM
Thanks for the answer... I feared as much. Anyway, I found the Conveyor Belt scroller and that's just what I wanted.. even though I need to escape a couple things, but hey - there's no such thing as free lunch.


-h