PDA

View Full Version : External Javascript file and slow disolve rate

mjp
03-06-2008, 08:59 PM
1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade-In Slideshow

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem:

I am using this script to rotate images on a website with mutliple pages - the top pane of the pages has the images as well as nav bar and block title for the page.

Two questions - first, I am not experienced with JavaScript and if this question should go to another area of the forum, please advise. I would like to have the javascript code that is located in the head element moved to an external file. I created a new file, moved the contents and created a link to this file - named 'slideshow.js' I replaced the javascript in the head element with this link: <script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript" src="home/cgi-bin/slideshow.js"> When I load the webpage, the images do not appear and the error I find is 'fadeshow is not defined' - which is probably caused by the script in the body element where the images are supposed to appear. What do I need to do to correct this?

My second question is regarding an adjustment to the disolve rate for the transition / fade between images. I would like to slow it down a little - the present transtion is quick and choppy. I like the transition / fade that is in the 'Blending Image Slideshow Script at: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/image4.htm, however this one did not work for me in Firefox 2.

Thanks for your help
Mike

thetestingsite
03-06-2008, 09:06 PM
Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

A few things off the top of my head, make sure you removed the opening and closing <script> tags in the external file and also any <!-- or //--> in there as well. Other than that, if it still isn't working, please post a link to the problem page so that we can help resolve the issue.

mjp