PDA

View Full Version : Question on Glossy Horizontal Menu



Rino5555
03-04-2008, 04:01 PM
Hi to all...

I have a question...
I'm using your Glossy Horizontal Menu and its working fine...
But how can I keep it on one line because right now depending on my width if i have my favorities open the menu goes on two lines if I close it it stay on one line...
how can I always keep it on one line even if the window size changes...

I tried nowrap command and it does work...
is there something else I can use...

Thanking you in advance...

Rino

Jas
03-04-2008, 05:30 PM
Try putting it inside of a div that has a specific width. That way, if the window is too narrow, the horizontal scroll bar will show up instead of the menu adjusting.

<div style="width:600px;">
<!--Place Menu Here//-->
</div>

Rino5555
03-04-2008, 07:45 PM
perfect thanks ...
just that now from the table that I have the menu to other other table right under it it leaves a space from each other before it way all together...
in my table i do have cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 by still leaves a space...

thanking you in advance...

Rino

Jas
03-04-2008, 08:35 PM
Do you have a link to a live page? Or can you post the code? (A live page would be better)
Also, make sure that the div 1) is the correct size, 2) also has a margin and padding of 0, and 3) is not subject to other styles in your CSS. You might also make sure the table has 0 padding.
EDIT: and what browser is this in? I asume IE6 or IE7?

Rino5555
03-04-2008, 08:49 PM
hi, here is the link to the live site...

http://www.hartstores.com/Hart/Merchandise/Mens.asp

make sure your on the french site that's where the tables don't meet...

Thanking you in advance...

Rino

Jas
03-04-2008, 08:53 PM
Try making the width bigger-- it looks like it's cutting off the last two items on the menu.
Nevermind: I thinks that's just linux :p 1 sec

Rino5555
03-04-2008, 08:57 PM
i put the width to 100% and the table just got bigger with the space inbetween...

Jas
03-04-2008, 08:59 PM
Yeah, never mind that comment. Sorry :(
Try changing this:

<table align="center" valign="top" cellpadding=5 cellspacing=5 bgcolor="045C97" border=0>
<tr>
<ul class="glossymenu"style="nowrap">
<div style="width:810px;"bgcolor="045C97">
<li class="current"><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Mens.asp"><b>homme</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Ladies.asp"><b>dames</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Kids.asp"><b>enfant</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Shoes.asp"><b>chaussures</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Toys.asp"><b>jouets</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Linens.asp"><b>literies</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Electronics.asp"><b>électronique</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Houseware.asp"><b>menagers</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Furniture.asp"><b>meubles</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Seasonal.asp"><b>saissoniers</b></a></li>
</div>
</ul>


<td bgcolor="045C97" align="CENTER">
to this:

<table align="center" valign="top" cellpadding=0 cellspacing=0 bgcolor="045C97" border=0>
<tr><td bgcolor="045C97" align="CENTER">
<div style="width:810px;"bgcolor="045C97">
<ul class="glossymenu"style="nowrap">
<li class="current"><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Mens.asp"><b>homme</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Ladies.asp"><b>dames</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Kids.asp"><b>enfant</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Shoes.asp"><b>chaussures</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Toys.asp"><b>jouets</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Linens.asp"><b>literies</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Electronics.asp"><b>électronique</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Houseware.asp"><b>menagers</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Furniture.asp"><b>meubles</b></a></li>
<li><a href="/Hart/Merchandise/Seasonal.asp"><b>saissoniers</b></a></li>
</ul>
</div>

Rino5555
03-04-2008, 09:08 PM
no still the same think...
but instead of putting the <div inbetween the menu i removed it and in the tabel i put width=880px instead of width=100%...

looks like it did the job...

i'll try it and let you know...

thanks again...

Jas
03-04-2008, 09:11 PM
You have some errors in the way your tags open and close, the biggest being the <tr><td> order-- you have the menu in between them. See my last post again. (I edited it)