PDA

View Full Version : HELP! Links on my webpage aren't working



sandmountaingirl
05-26-2005, 08:50 PM
Hi,
I have had a personal webpage for several years and just recently, the links on it are not working. I have checked and re-checked, but I can't figure out what is the problem. If you can help, I would greatly appreciate any advice on how to fix the problem.

Thanks!
www.geocities.com/sandmountaingirl

Beverly

cr3ative
05-26-2005, 09:07 PM
They work for me.

Is there a way you can show us how to recreate the error?

cr3ative

sandmountaingirl
05-27-2005, 12:16 AM
I can't believe they are working for you! I wonder if my computer is set somehow to keep me from being able to access the links. I asked my parents and a couple of friends to check for me and they are having the same problem with accessing the links, as well.

I'm not sure what you mean by recreating the error; please forgive my ignorance. If you can explain it to me, maybe I can do so. My son has a webpage that I did for him, as well, and all the links seem to work for his...also done on geocities.

www.geocities.com/imatigerfan2000

I'm just stumped on this one.

Thanks again for your time and effort in helping me,
Bev

jscheuer1
05-27-2005, 04:06 AM
It is most likely caused by those bees around the cursor. Are they new? More specifically, assuming the script is installed correctly, a conflict between the bees and a Geocities script that the server inserts on the page. If you've had the bees for awhile then, perhaps Geocities has added a new script that now conflicts with it.

By way of explanation for what cr3 reported, cr3 uses FF as his default browser and the links work there OK but, the bees don't.

In any case, try taking the bees script off the page at least temporarily, if that solves the link problem I know how to proceed. Geocities scripts often use one letter variables (particularly 'i' and 'j'). I see the bees script uses 'i' so changing all the bees' 'i's to 'xdt's might fix it. However the bees' script uses alot of other one letter variables so, more substitutions might be needed.

sandmountaingirl
05-27-2005, 05:27 PM
Thanks, John!
I have had the bee's trailing cursor ever since I created this page in 2001 but only recently had problems with all the links. I did take off the bees and thanks to you, it is now working.

Again, I appreciate the time and effort you took in looking at my problem and giving me a solution.

Beverly