PDA

View Full Version : Marquee Memory Question



Hummell
02-26-2008, 02:53 PM
Hey guys! I'm completely brand new to HTML/Javascript or anything else coding related. Most of the solutions I've come up with are through googling questions and coming up with answers. I'm 100% positive that my code is junky and not well done, but I'm trying to find an answer to a question I've been having.

I have an executive dashboard that I maintain for a company. At the top, I have a ticker that displays our metric movements from the previous actual to the current actual. It works great. The only problem I have is that when a user leaves the site and comes back, the ticker starts over rather than picking up where the user left off (the dashboard has drilldown capability so there is a lot of back and forth, thus resetting the ticker each time).

Here is my code in the Marquee:

<script language="JavaScript">
function function1(){
document.all.myMarquee.stop();
}
function function2(){
document.all.myMarquee.start();
}
</script>
<MARQUEE direction="left" id="myMarquee" width="100%" scrollamount="2.3" class="ms-imglibmenuarea" scrolldelay="30"><b><img src="http://sharepoint.companyname.com/sites/council/documents/Shared%20Documents/StockDown.gif"/>*Client Satisfaction | Last: 45.4% | Change: <FONT COLOR="ee0000">-2.2%</font>MARQUEE></strong></tr>
<input type="button" value="Start Ticker" onClick="function2();"/>
<input type="button" value="Stop Ticker" onClick="function1();">

I'm sorry, I KNOW that is a mess. What you see here is just ONE item in the Marquee....I edited out all the others, but there are like 13 other items within the scrolling marquee across the top of the page. Is there anything I can put in there to make it remember where the user left off so that it doesn't start over when they come back to the page?

jscheuer1
02-26-2008, 04:06 PM
Unless the marquee tag can be queried and set as to its position/progress, I think you would need something like so:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex2/memoryscroller.htm

Even if the marquee tag could be dealt with as I outline, you would also need a cookie to store and retrieve the position/progress information.

As marquee started out as IE only, I'm fairly sure that even if these more 'esoteric' values of the marquee may be get and set, they probably would only be available in IE. Most other browsers do now support marquee, but with a much more limited set of options/capabilities than is found in IE.

Hummell
02-26-2008, 04:45 PM
Thanks! I'll give it a shot and post back what happens!

Much appreciated!
-Hum

Hummell
02-26-2008, 05:29 PM
Perfect solution! It even scrolls smoother! :)

Thanks so much, jscheuer1!!
-Hum

electriduct
02-28-2008, 07:21 PM
Hi.

Im just experiencing the Marquee tag.
So far, I'm not very disappointed, I mean it's nice and very simple, no javascript, no css which imply less time to load the page which is appreciated.

However, I have some interrogations:
1) It creates a blank part between the end and the beginning, that is not very nice for pictures .... the behavior="alternate" would fix it, BUT it doesnt work in Firefox.
2) I tested the marquee tag and right now it sounds to work in IE 6+, and Firefox .
I couldnt test it in any others browsers like Netscape, Opera, Safari ....

You can take a look on this page: http://www.electriduct.com/test/vincent/help.html

This link is probably the closest I am looking for though its vertical ...
http://home.comcast.net/~jscheuer1/side/files/vertical_slide.htm


But I just wonder if all this effort worth it ??? I mean , even though with the div, css and javascript, I know that for some tricky browsers it will still not work, so why not just leave the marquee, at least its not so much work ??