PDA

View Full Version : Ultimate Fade-in slideshow - How do I make it stop?



AndyPoo
02-25-2008, 01:58 PM
1) Script Title: Ultimate Fade-in slideshow

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

3) Describe problem: The script is amazing, but I have one simple problem. How do I make the slideshow stop at the last image? I do not want the slideshow to repeat itself over and over again. I tried manipulating with the coding, particularly the mouseover part where it gets the slideshow to stop. However, I'm new at javascript and stink at it.

If anyone out there could help me or provide me the necessary codes to stop the slideshow at the last image I would really appreciate it.

Thank you. =)

jscheuer1
02-25-2008, 03:18 PM
See:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?p=54191#post54191

and:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6567

AndyPoo
02-28-2008, 05:40 PM
Thank you so much.

Another problem with the slideshow is the random appearance of white dots (1x1 px) that appear on my images.

Is there any way to remove them? They appear in IE 7 but not in firefox.

I've tried changing the background colour to black and it helped a bit, but the white dots can now be seen during the transition/fade in.

jscheuer1
02-29-2008, 03:10 AM
I believe that someone came up with an even easier way of dealing with this known issue in IE involving fade transitions and .jpg images, but at the moment, this is the best reference I can find:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showpost.php?p=118389&postcount=2

It would only be the first 7 or so lines in that post that relate to this issue. Hopefully you know your way around your image editor well enough to use this information. I have tried it, and it works.

If you need more help on it, let me know. In the meantime, I will continue to look for this other solution, and report back if I find it, and it is applicable..

lionel barker
05-18-2008, 09:40 PM
A bit tacky but

remove this on seconf occurance after canvas_1

'filter:progid:DXImageTransform.Microsoft.alpha(opacity=10);

now load each picture twice.

I do something like this

var i;
i=0;
//SET IMAGE PATHS. Extend or contract array as needed

fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0002.jpg", "", ""]
fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0002.jpg", "", ""]
fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0004.jpg", "", ""]
fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0004.jpg", "", ""]
fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0006.jpg", "", ""]
fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0006.jpg", "", ""]
fadeimages[i++]=["DSC_0007.jpg", "", ""]


You need to halve the time allotted for each picture

I believe the bug has somthing to do with IE Exploxer mapping black to transparent - but I don't know why the above works

=====
As an aside I make this list with perl

#!/usr/bin/perl


$frame = 0;
@list = glob("*.jpg");
foreach $i (@list)
{
printf " fadeimages[i++]=[\"%s\", \"\", \"\"]\n",$i;
printf " fadeimages[i++]=[\"%s\", \"\", \"\"]\n",$i;
}