PDA

View Full Version : DD Tab menu - default submenu link?

roystik
02-25-2008, 05:32 AM
1) Script Title: DD Tab menu

2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddtabmenu.htm

3) Describe problem:

So I started playing around with the tabs, navigation and css. I created submenus for each tab, like so:

<DIV class="tabcontainer">
<div id="ct1" class="tabcontent">&nbsp;</div>
<div id="ct2" class="tabcontent"> <span><a href="subtab1a.htm">Sub Tab 1a</a></span> <span><a href="subtab1b.htm">Sub Tab 1b</a></span> <span><a href="subtab1c.htm">Sub Tab 1c</a></span> <span><a href="subtab1d.htm">Sub Tab 1d</span></a> <span><a href="subtab1e.htm">Sub Tab 1e</a></span> </div>
<div id="ct3" class="tabcontent"> <span><a href="subtab2a.htm">Sub Tab 2a</a></span> <span><a href="subtab2b.htm">Sub Tab 2b</a></span> <span><a href="subtab2c.htm">Sub Tab 2c</a></span> <span><a href="subtab2d.htm">Sub Tab 2d</span></a> <span><a href="subtab2e.htm">Sub Tab 2e</a></span> </div>
<div id="ct4" class="tabcontent"> &nbsp; </div>
<div id="ct5" class="tabcontent"> &nbsp; </div>
</DIV>

My question is this: is it possible to apply the default tab functionality of the script to the submenu? Say, if you go to the Sub Tab 1d page, not only will the default tab be highlighted but the Sub Tab 1d link as well?

I'm attaching my files in case it will be of help. Thanks!

ddadmin
02-25-2008, 07:16 AM
Well, the general idea would be to add another function that loops through every link within the desired sub level container (ie: <div id="ct2" class="tabcontent">..</div>), and highlight the desired link by giving it an ID of "current". Try adding the below to the very end of ddtabmenu.js:

ddtabmenu._selectsub=function(sublevel, dselected){
var submenus=document.getElementById(sublevel).getElementsByTagName('a')
for (var i=0; i<submenus.length; i++){
if (i==dselected)
submenus[i].className="current"
}
}

ddtabmenu.selectsub=function(sublevel, dselected){