PDA

View Full Version : iframe shim? (better yet, iframe sham)



kona
02-22-2008, 04:59 PM
Ajax Tabs Content Script (v 2.1)
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/index.htm

I just can't figure this out despite all the reading I've done on the subject. I understand the problem but I can't seem to get any of the solutions to work for me. Clearly I am missing something.

Go to http://revolutionaryviews.com/redo/home.html
click on still galleries/interiors

Notice how the menu options hide behind the iframe (in IE and FF).

I figure if there was a place to go and find a simple solution to this problem it would be here.

One shiny nickel and many thanks to the peron who can save me!

Kona

jscheuer1
02-22-2008, 06:14 PM
It doesn't seem to happen except when Flash is in the iframe. Set the Flash tags wmode to transparent:


Add in this language to your object/embed tag -

Add the following parameter to the OBJECT tag:

<param name="wmode" value="transparent">

Add the following attribute to the EMBED tag:

wmode="transparent"

Or, if you are using two object tags, as can and is sometimes done, add the param tag to both of them.

If you are using script to generate the tags (as is frequently done to avoid the 'click to activate' feature in some browsers), the wmode transparent must be passed to the script. This is easily accomplished but, varies depending upon the sort of script one uses. Some scripts do it automatically.

kona
02-22-2008, 10:16 PM
Thanks for the reply.

This is what I did and now the flash content won't display.

<body>
<div id="flashcontent">SimpleViewer requires Adobe Flash. <a href="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer/">Get Adobe Flash.</a> If you have Flash installed, <a href="index.html?detectflash=false">click to view gallery</a>.</div>
<script type="text/javascript">
var fo = new SWFObject("viewer.swf", "viewer", "100%", "100%", "7", "#333333");
fo.addVariable("preloaderColor", "0xffffff");
fo.addVariable("xmlDataPath", "gallery.xml");
so.addParam("wmode", "transparent");
fo.write("flashcontent");
</script>
</body>

jscheuer1
02-23-2008, 02:43 AM
Whatever you did, it seems to be working fine. Perhaps you are viewing an old cached copy. Clear your cache and try viewing the page again.

kona
02-23-2008, 11:35 AM
I got it but forgot to post and let you know.

My mistake was
so.addParam("wmode", "transparent");

When it should have been
fo.addParam("wmode", "transparent");

Thanks so much for all your help!