PDA

View Full Version : drop down tabs problem



leoj
02-10-2008, 07:48 AM
1) Script Title: Drop Down Tabs (5 styles)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/droptabmenu.htm

3) Describe problem:
I modified this script and used it in my site (http://www.ilovesabah.net)..working great in all pages (http://www.ilovesabah.net)...except in my members pages..eg: here (http://www.ilovesabah.net/userinfo.php?uid=1)
no drop down just static menu

- as you can see in the members pages source i use other scripts and css that are not exists in other pages where my drop down menu is working i tried to remove the script and css.but the drop down menu is still not working..

can anyone take a look and tell me what or line in the script that cause the problem and what do i need to edit...

thank you

ddadmin
02-10-2008, 09:23 PM
It's hard to pinpoint where the conflict in CSS occurs, since you have quite a few CSS file references on your page. There are no script errors with the script, so that tells me the problem most likely is due to some problem with the CSS for the drop down DIVs themselves, or this portion of what you currently have:


.dropmenudiv_a{
position:absolute;
top: 0;
border: 0px solid black; /*THEME CHANGE HERE*/
border-top-width: 8px; /*Top border width. Should match height of .ddcolortabsline above*/
border-bottom-width: 0;
line-height:18px;
z-index:100;
background:#F3F3F3;
color: #FFFFFF;
font-size:0.9em;

visibility: hidden;
}

.dropmenudiv_a:hover{
position:absolute;
top: 0;
border: 0px solid black; /*THEME CHANGE HERE*/
border-top-width: 8px; /*Top border width. Should match height of .ddcolortabsline above*/
border-bottom-width: 0;
line-height:18px;
z-index:100;
background:#F3F3F3;
color: #FFFFFF;
font-size:0.9em;

visibility: hidden;
}

.dropmenudiv_a a{
width: auto;
display: block;
text-indent: 5px;
border-top: 0 solid #678b3f;
border-bottom: 0px solid #678b3f; /*THEME CHANGE HERE*/
padding: 2px 0;
text-decoration: none;
color: #909497;
background:#F3F3F3;
}

* html .dropmenudiv_a a{ /*IE only hack*/
width: 100%;
}

.dropmenudiv_a a:hover{ /*THEME CHANGE HERE*/
background-color: #F3F3F3;
color: #909497;
font-weight:bold;
}

At a glance, I spot a problem with the code in red- it's redundant at the very least. There may be other issues within the above chunk of code though, in which case, try reverting back to the original CSS (http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropdowntabfiles/ddcolortabs.css). If that still doesn't help, look for any duplicate CSS classnames elsewhere on your page overriding the above, specifically, when it comes to position:absolute.

leoj
02-11-2008, 02:41 AM
..i just found out what is the problem

there is no initialized tab menu in the page...i initialized it and now its working perfectly

thank you

block306
02-16-2008, 07:51 AM
I am also trying to use this script in my blogger blog. I am a total novice in html or any codes. I have a few questions on how to use these codes and hope someone can help me:

1) how do I use tabs from the dropdowntabs.zip that I downloaded?
2) what would go to substitute the "bluemenu" as in the codes?
3) where in my html template would I be inserting these codes?

I apologise ahead for asking silly questions. I really like this functionality and really hope to be able to use it. Thanks.

rangana
02-16-2008, 08:14 AM
Hi block306,
You could feel free to add it anywhere in the page you want, ideally, it is place on the tab as navigations!. :D
If you want to use only the "bluemenu" div, I zipped it to suite your requirements :D

block306
02-16-2008, 04:24 PM
Hi Rangan,
Thanks for your reply. As I am a real novice, I like to be specific on the questions that I need help on. Hope you and others do not mind and be able to assist.

My blog is http://travel-and-photography.blogspot.com/
The html codes of my blog can be seen here: http://testconcepts.blogspot.com/

I am keen to sued the fifth example of the Drop Down Tabs in http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/droptabmenu.htm

I was hoping to be able to create 3 tabs- Home, Galleries and Text where:
Home= the whole blog as it is now with no sub-tabs (drop down)
Galleries = the categories/labels already created and will down-down
Text = posts with only text identified by categories/labels created, so drop-down.

The specific questions I have are:

1) how do I use the "bluemenu" files? Are these supposed to be inserted somewhere into my blog's html template's codes? Or are they to be uploaded somewhere?

2) Per what I wanted to achieve, what would I substitute (appended from dtml below) the "bluemenu" with?

3) For Home, I will use my blog url, but what would be my "dropmenu1", "dropmenu2" be? Would I be using the words "Galleries" and "Text" respectively for my case?

4) And I could put these codes anywhere within the html coding of my template, regardless whether at the beginning/top or elsewhere?

<div id="bluemenu" class="bluetabs">
<ul>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com">Home</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/" rel="dropmenu1">CSS</a></li>
<li><a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com/resources/" rel="dropmenu2">Partners</a></li>
<li><a href="http://tools.dynamicdrive.com">Tools</a></li>
</ul>
</div>

Again- apologies for being asking silly naive questions. Thanks.

ddadmin
02-17-2008, 02:38 AM
Hi Block306:
Just for future reference, please post your own question in a new thread (instead of replying to an existing one). To your question, actually, the installation instructions on the script page (http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/droptabmenu.htm) should address all the issues you've mentioned already. Make sure to read it without skipping over any section.

block306
02-18-2008, 04:09 AM
Ok- noted. Thanks.