PDA

View Full Version : "preview page"

datacut
01-30-2008, 09:23 AM
Hey guys, im very new to javascript and web design, as i am creating a website for my gce applied ICT course, so be easy with the explanations :)

Basically what i want to know is if i can be able to have a bit of javascript which when i mouse over the navigation links (pictures atm) it will bring up a preview of the content area of the page it links to, (basically will be a printscreen or other by me) and display it in the content area on that page.

so basically an image popup but in a specific place.

thanks in advance if anyone can help :)

codeexploiter
01-30-2008, 09:36 AM
Yes this can be done using JavaScript. You can find free web page thumbnail generators which can be used for your case.

Medyman
01-30-2008, 02:02 PM
If you're just going to create your own sceenshots, you can use any number of the tooltip scripts available on DD:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex5/index.html

datacut
02-01-2008, 09:15 AM
cheers =] will check them out. any recommendations?

datacut
02-01-2008, 09:33 AM
ok i have gone for the overlapping tooltip:
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex5/overlapcontent.htm

but i cant get it to go in the right place, how do i edit the javascript to control where it is being placed?

i edited the Div so that it should be in the right place / height/width, but it still just goes directly beneath the link which isnt what i want =[

thanks in advance =]

datacut
02-01-2008, 10:51 AM