PDA

View Full Version : Is switch content script for me?

Crea
05-20-2005, 07:39 AM
DD Switch Content Script (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/switchcontent.htm)

I think it is, but I'm a little confused. I'm not sure if I can say this right, so please bare with me. I'm new to this, and the site.

I'm using css external style sheet and going for xhtml strict.

I'm working on a base template for my site, which I've uploaded at a temporary free host found here (http://mydarlingdarkling.150m.com).

If you notice the Legend off to the right of the page, it's basically a css ul li vertical menu/list (that I'm pretty sure I'd only have to add the onClick event and class to). But menus aside, even if I were to just have a h1 or whatever that acts upon onClick that's located in the div id #bg-slice-18. When I click on one of the four options, I'd like the content that is and also found within the div id #bg-slice-20 to be switched to a different background-image and content, which will either be #bg-slice-20-links or #bg-slice-20-clear, depending on what I'd need. And then have the new div id filled with specific content related to whichever was clicked.

As is right now, I'll only be working with 4 different contents to be loaded into the same space. And each of the four so far, will only be using the #bg-slice-20-links background-image. But as I build, the sites main content section will have a story with footnotes using the same one character symbols found in the legend which will be used to do either #bg-slice-20-links or #bg-slice-20-clear throughtout the story, and loaded into the same space.

I know I don't want to have the expand (+/-) symbols next to it.

Is this script right for me? if not could you please direct me to a script that may fit my needs more? However if it is, could someone please be kind enough to walk me through it? I don't mean just for you to do it for me, but explain a bit more so I can understand and learn from it for later use?