PDA

View Full Version : Omnislide issue



wanapitei
01-24-2008, 12:59 AM
See below for my question raised again, this time with reference links.

ddadmin
01-24-2008, 05:48 AM
Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6) for the proper posting format when asking a question.

jscheuer1
01-24-2008, 06:10 AM
A link to your page would help too.

wanapitei
01-24-2008, 04:45 PM
I'll start again, this time with links.

I've opted to use the Omnislide navbar feature (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/omnislide/index.htm), which I downloaded from this site (authored by John Scheuer). I plan a series of navbars abutting each other, dropping down from across the top of the page. However I also want to add some static gif images far left and right as static buttons (no drop down). Here's a link to the work in progress (http://www.morleychalmers.com/Version2.html)

I've succeeded in modifying cloning the drop down menus across top, but I'm having a devil of a time trying to add the static gifs to harmonize with the Omnislide drop downs.

A white margin appears between the gif and top of the page, but there's no margin with the drop downs. I've attempted to add css margin controls on test pages that omit the omnislide feature, but they have no effect when the omnislide feature is included. Either the gif doesn't appear at all or it has that darn margin.

My latest strategy is to add the gifs to the "menuitems.js" javascript but don't know enough javascript to have any idea how to do that (let alone knowing whether that's the right strategy, is even doable that way).

Assistance appreciated.

jscheuer1
01-24-2008, 05:30 PM
The problem with the Home2.gif is that it is in a paragraph (<p>), In most browsers paragraphs have a default top margin of about 20px. If it were in a division (<div>), it would line up with the top.