PDA

View Full Version : Configure Images

Nickster
05-16-2005, 09:55 PM
Hi all.
I am completely new to all this so be patient with me. I can use FrontPage slide show, but I want something a litle better.

I have just been trying to put a 'Preload Image' code, from Dynamic Drive, on my site without success. I have two questions.
1) When it says configure the code to put images in. Does that mean the complete address? For example. The list of images I want to put on the page comes from...C/my documents/my pictures/my folder/football_Team001.jpg
Do I have to put all that in the space? I have tried, but no pictures come up.
2) When it says:- 'Finally, inside the BODY tag itself, add this event handler:
<body onLoad="StartSlideShow()">
Where exactly do I place it? Right next to where it says <body or anywhere after <body ?
I've tried several places, but the code still won't work.
I hope you can advise me.

Thanks in advance.
Nickster

jscheuer1
05-17-2005, 03:05 AM
C/my documents/my pictures/my folder/football_Team001.jpgis not a valid path in html or even on a computer. When designing a web page, the usual convention is to put images in a folder called 'images' just above the directory of the page. Simpler still (and often done) is to use the same directory as the page. For starters, I'd recommend that - Put your pictures in the same directory as your page, then all you need to use is the filename:

football_Team001.jpg

This business about the body tag - there should be only one body tag on a page. The idea is to make your body tag on your page include the information to start the script. So, let's say your current body tag looks like this:

<body>

Make it look like this:

<body onLoad="StartSlideShow()">

or if the body tag has other stuff in it already like this:

<body text="#000000" bgcolor="#FFFFFF">

or any other stuff in there except another 'onload' statement, just add on to it like:

<body text="#000000" bgcolor="#FFFFFF" onLoad="StartSlideShow()">