PDA

View Full Version : Swiss Army - captions above slide?



bduane
01-02-2008, 09:46 AM
1) Script Title: Swiss Army

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/swissarmy/index.htm

3) Describe problem: Thanks for a great script. I am using it on http://geocities.com/schoolofbonsai/Pics2006IdeasSummit.htm

I have managed to get my variable height slides to appear at the top of the cell (small nod to swissarny.js) and also eliminate the white banding surrounding shorter slides (followed recommendation in another thread).

But I would like to move the slide caption (description) to a position above the slide. At present, the caption is below the slide (long way below for shorter slides) .

I'm a real novice when it comes to java, js, some help would be appreciated.

Thanks

jscheuer1
01-02-2008, 04:45 PM
I think you may need to upgrade to a more versatile version of the script, see:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26953

If you have already made modifications to it that you find useful, you will have to make those to this newer version as well.



Note: For more info on this update, and some more example ideas for it see:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=27466

bduane
01-02-2008, 10:17 PM
Thanks John.

I have changed to your updated version of the script.
But I can't seem to get the image caption to appear above the image - maybe I am missing something?

You example at: http://home.comcast.net/~jscheuer1/side/files/swiss_update.htm
shows the navigate buttons and image caption appearing below the image.

I would like the navigate buttons and image caption to appear above the image.

jscheuer1
01-03-2008, 06:45 AM
You haven't upgraded your live demo. Even without that, you could do:


#imgdsc0 {
position:relative;
top:-675px;
}

You might want to get rid of:


slides.no_added_linebreaks=1;

To give yourself more room to play with up at the top. There appears to be enough there now in FF, but not in Opera or IE. This may require some adjustment of the background and/or dimensions of #master0.

Now, if you were using the updated script, you could use:


#desc0 {
position:relative;
top:-675px;
}

instead, and also be able to style its width and left, because that's a division, the other is a span. Knowing a bit about HTML and css helps. You don't need:


div#show3 {
background-color:#efefef;
width:140px;
margin:0 auto;
border:1px solid #444444;
}
div#show3 table td, div#show4 table td {
height:24px;
background-image:url('38.gif');
}
div#show4 table td {
background-image:url('40.gif');
}
div#show3 table input, div#show4 table input {
outline-style:none;
}

or:


<!--[if IE]>
<style type="text/css">
div#show3 table td, div#show4 table td {
height:21px;
}
</style>
<![endif]-->

because you are not using them.

bduane
01-03-2008, 09:48 AM
Thanks heaps John.

I think I am getting the hang of it.

Results at http://geocities.com/schoolofbonsai/Pics2006IdeasSummit.htm are OK by me for IE and FF.

I dropped the slides.controls_top=1 directive and compensated with large -ve offsets in the style.

Again - much thanks for the script and your help.

badkneecap
06-10-2008, 01:30 AM
What about adding the caption to a table cell? I need to move the entire caption away from the image. If possible, I have a TD with a height and width that I need to fit it into. Is there a way I can ID the TD?

Suggestions?

badkneecap
06-10-2008, 02:15 AM
One more question. Is there a way to show "1 of 15" that displays which image I am looking at, and how many there are total.

TIA

badkneecap
06-13-2008, 12:27 AM
I figured a way around the <TD> option. I also used:

#imgdsc0 {
position:relative;
top:-675px;
}

to position it where I wanted. However, new problem: If the description is 3 lines long, it's pushing the << 1 of 15 >> down 3 lines. I thought setting slides.no_added_linebreaks=0; would do it, but it doesn't.

Help! I'm deperate. This is the last thing I need to get working.