PDA

View Full Version : Ultimate fade - in slide show.



snookerace
12-26-2007, 05:06 PM
Hi All, Not sure which section of this forum I should be addressing this to, so if it needs moving please do it. I was impressed with the use of fade in shows. Asked in the Tiscali forum and they put me on to Dynamic Drive. Even more impressed with the different types of fading. I have made a web site for my snooker team, and thought I would brighten it up a bit with the slide show. So as you know a little knowledge is a bad thing, went on to the link to down load the 2 steps. that bit is ok, but now I must change the pic code and the px (to set width / height). Where do I amend the code(fadeimage[])as asked, how much of the code is needed? also I must add the widest / highest image sizes to cover all pic's in px. can't find where to do it. May be more than a little help is needed.:confused:

jscheuer1
12-26-2007, 05:42 PM
Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6) for the proper posting format when asking a question.

Replace the red part with your image's filename:


fadeimages[0]=["photo1.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax

If the image isn't in the same folder as the page using the script, you would need to include the path to the image as well (use the actual path, this is just an example):


fadeimages[0]=["http://www.mysite.com/images/photo1.jpg", "", ""] //plain image syntax

snookerace
12-26-2007, 08:03 PM
Scrip: DD Tab Menu
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddtabmenu.htm

Sorry jscheuer1, I do belong to many forums and they all have a different way
of doing things. You started of great with the reply, and then, I still need to know what to fill in.The pic code in my Web folder is th_Doherty97.jpg if I send that pic to the index page it shows as
<p>img border="0" src="th_Doherty97.jpg width="118" height="152"></p> the other pic's are a different size, so do I leave the dimensions in, do I change all three pic's to the largest sizes or try to find this px thing?
I did put in the first code and nothing happened
fadeimage[1]=["th_Doherty97.jpg", "http://www.cssdrive.com", ""]
:rolleyes:

jscheuer1
12-26-2007, 08:17 PM
What script?

snookerace
12-26-2007, 08:20 PM
This one
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/fadeinslideshow.htm

jscheuer1
12-26-2007, 08:24 PM
I thought so, but I was beginning to wonder. Anyways, if your images are of different dimensions, you need:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/swissarmy/index.htm

The whole bit about the path is the same there though. To make things easier, why not just put all the files in the same folder, then you won't have to worry about the path.

snookerace
12-26-2007, 08:26 PM
Will try that link tomorrow. thanks John.

snookerace
12-27-2007, 12:00 PM
Hi jscheuer1, Had a look at the swissarmy, it asked me to down load swissarny.js but I keep getting an error ('document' is undefined). I suppose with out that the hole program is no good to me :confused:

jscheuer1
12-27-2007, 04:16 PM
Just right click on it and choose 'save' or 'save as'. It is a text only file with the extension .js - IE, if it tries to open it, will think it is a binary program file and barf or have some other problem - most other browsers will just show it as text.

Anyways, just save it and put it in the folder with your page.

snookerace
12-27-2007, 08:58 PM
Just right click on it and choose 'save' or 'save as'. It is a text only file with the extension .js - IE, if it tries to open it, will think it is a binary program file and barf or have some other problem - most other browsers will just show it as text.

Anyways, just save it and put it in the folder with your page.

Would love to but right click gives me the choice of save to my stuff in Ask
and that saves the hole thing not just the bit I need.:rolleyes:

jscheuer1
12-27-2007, 09:06 PM
I have no idea what you are talking about, sorry. 99.99% or more of browsers will allow you to save the particular link target to a file on your hard drive, that's all you need to do.

What browser are you using, and do you have any other browsers?

snookerace
12-27-2007, 09:43 PM
You have just give me a clue, target to file, saved it to Card D-load, opened it up and it said error on line 16 same as before. You do not need this sort of an headache save yourself for the New Year. Thanks for all your help, I will concentrate on the Fade-in option and I will get it right in the end.

jscheuer1
12-27-2007, 09:55 PM
You are almost home, I think. If you have saved the swissarmy.js file, that's all you need to do about that part of it. You don't need to open it, shouldn't really, just put it in the folder with your page. But if you want to look at it or need to edit it, you can - use notepad or another plain text editor.

snookerace
12-27-2007, 10:36 PM
I misunderstood jscheuer1, so I just copy it and put it into my web folder, I was just playing with some bouncing ball on another one of DD's pages and that opened with no error. OK more time to play. See I have some bouncing balls already.

snookerace
01-01-2008, 09:21 PM
hi jscheuer1, I said i would get it working, with just the Fade-in show (no swissarmy needed) Now as it appears top left of a blank page, and I would like to to be part of my Index page, do I make a new index page and just add it in or do I create the fade-in first. As you can't see any thing in design view how do you build up your index page around it? New headache for the New Year for you. Hope you had a Good One!
http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w224/Snookerace/ATForum/thth13_4_101.gif :rolleyes:

jscheuer1
01-02-2008, 06:43 AM
http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w224/Snookerace/ATForum/thth13_4_101.gif

I'm with you on that. As for the rest, I use a text only editor to code and test in the browsers, so I'm not too sure about 'design view' and wouldn't trust it for scripts in any case. Generally, the script acts - as far as layout purposes are concerned, like a div element. If you've modified things in any particular way that changes that though, I can't even guarantee that much.

If you need more help:

Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

And be as specific as possible about how you want it to look.

snookerace
01-02-2008, 10:12 PM
Hi jscheuer1, You are just going about 5ft. over my head now.(and I'm 6ft 2") div element-problematic code. I think I was expecting to see every thing in my design view(as I do when moving things around that page, pic's and hyperlinks to other pages etc) code view tells me what I have done after I have done it. So not to see things through me off the track a bit. After putting an hyperlink linking my index page to my plain Fade-in page there is was on my web site. I will have a play and let you know how I get on
You must have the patents of a Saint.