PDA

View Full Version : Calling PHP hero's



Steve Sea
12-04-2007, 07:51 PM
Hi all
Pulling my hair out here, I've found a php script which will help me out,
(I would have prefered Javascript but couldn't find the same script in javascript)
anyway the main problem is me, Html is my limit,
what I would like is the the PHP script to be external

How do I call it.

how to place the output on the html page

My aim is to do something like this :http://www.leconjugueur.com/uknombre.php

with this :


<?php

//*************************************************************
// this function converts an amount into alpha words
// and adds the words dollars and cents. Pass it a float.
// works up to 999,999,999.99 dollars - send me a check
//*************************************************************

function makewords($numval)
{
$moneystr = "";
// handle the millions
$milval = (integer)($numval / 1000000);
if($milval > 0)
{
$moneystr = getwords($milval) . " Million";
}

// handle the thousands
$workval = $numval - ($milval * 1000000); // get rid of millions
$thouval = (integer)($workval / 1000);
if($thouval > 0)
{
$workword = getwords($thouval);
if ($moneystr == "")
{
$moneystr = $workword . " Thousand";
}
else
{
$moneystr .= " " . $workword . " Thousand";
}
}

// handle all the rest of the dollars
$workval = $workval - ($thouval * 1000); // get rid of thousands
$tensval = (integer)($workval);
if ($moneystr == "")
{
if ($tensval > 0)
{
$moneystr = getwords($tensval);
}
else
{
$moneystr = "Zero";
}
}
else // non zero values in hundreds and up
{
$workword = getwords($tensval);
$moneystr .= " " . $workword;
}

// plural or singular 'dollar'
$workval = (integer)($numval);
if ($workval == 1)
{
$moneystr .= " Dollar And ";
}
else
{
$moneystr .= " Dollars And ";
}

// do the pennies - use printf so that we get the
// same rounding as printf
$workstr = sprintf("%3.2f",$numval); // convert to a string
$intstr = substr($workstr,strlen - 2, 2);
$workint = (integer)($intstr);
if ($workint == 0)
{
$moneystr .= "Zero";
}
else
{
$moneystr .= getwords($workint);
}
if ($workint == 1)
{
$moneystr .= " Cent";
}
else
{
$moneystr .= " Cents";
}

// done - let's get out of here!
return $moneystr;
}

//*************************************************************
// this function creates word phrases in the range of 1 to 999.
// pass it an integer value
//*************************************************************
function getwords($workval)
{
$numwords = array(
1 => "One",
2 => "Two",
3 => "Three",
4 => "Four",
5 => "Five",
6 => "Six",
7 => "Seven",
8 => "Eight",
9 => "Nine",
10 => "Ten",
11 => "Eleven",
12 => "Twelve",
13 => "Thirteen",
14 => "Fourteen",
15 => "Fifteen",
16 => "Sixteen",
17 => "Seventeen",
18 => "Eightteen",
19 => "Nineteen",
20 => "Twenty",
30 => "Thirty",
40 => "Forty",
50 => "Fifty",
60 => "Sixty",
70 => "Seventy",
80 => "Eighty",
90 => "Ninety");

// handle the 100's
$retstr = "";
$hundval = (integer)($workval / 100);
if ($hundval > 0)
{
$retstr = $numwords[$hundval] . " Hundred";
}

// handle units and teens
$workstr = "";
$tensval = $workval - ($hundval * 100); // dump the 100's
if (($tensval < 20) && ($tensval > 0))// do the teens
{
$workstr = $numwords[$tensval];
}
else // got to break out the units and tens
{
$tempval = ((integer)($tensval / 10)) * 10; // dump the units
$workstr = $numwords[$tempval]; // get the tens
$unitval = $tensval - $tempval; // get the unit value
if ($unitval > 0)
{
$workstr .= " " . $numwords[$unitval];
}
}

// join all the parts together and leave
if ($workstr != "")
{
if ($retstr != "")
{
$retstr .= " " . $workstr;
}
else
{
$retstr = $workstr;
}
}
return $retstr;
}

$floatval = 55.55;
$myresult = makewords($floatval);
echo "$myresult<br>";
printf("The value is %0.2f<br>",$floatval);


?>






Simple (not)

Regards

Steve.

djr33
12-04-2007, 10:20 PM
There is no such thing as an "external" PHP file, but there's another similar method.

You can use the include() function to sorta network pages.

<?php include('my/dir/path/mypage.php'); ?> will actually just link the pages together. It will work exactly as if you had cut and paste the contents of that page directly into your current page, at precisely that line/location. It will run the PHP, output, etc. You can also access variables, etc., from the current page.

Note that if you do this with an offsite file (another domain) it will work a little differently-- only the output of the page will be displayed there, as you won't have access to the PHP-- locally, the PHP executes as part of the current page; offsite, it executes independently and the output is transferred alone.

Shotgun Ninja
12-06-2007, 06:36 PM
Do you have PHP installed on your server? That may help.

Steve Sea
12-06-2007, 08:23 PM
I'm playing local so have it setup on local drive,
thanks for your help but I think I'm peeing in the wind, what with not knowing the language, so I'm trying to revert back to javascript, and maybe look a PHP in another century.

Many thanks 4 the help

steve c