PDA

View Full Version : SwissArmy Slideshow positioning problem in IE7



zeltus
12-03-2007, 12:21 PM
1) Script Title: Swiss Army Image Slideshow

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/swissarmy/index.htm

3) Describe problem: Cannot position slideshow using IE7

Hi

I have successfully set up a slideshow but I cannot position it properly under IE7... I have set up a highly simplified demo page at http://red-lion.eu/demo2.html which works fine in Firefox but simply remains centred in IE7...

Hopefully, as you will see, what I want is a slideshow floated right with text slipping gracefully down the left... not sure if this is a script problem per se, or a CSS problem but whatever it is, I've been looking at it so long now that I have come over all funny - so if someone (John?) can help, I'd be really grateful....

Cheers

Bill

jscheuer1
12-03-2007, 05:13 PM
You need to supply the width in IE:


div#slideshow { width: 350px; float: right; clear: none; margin: 20px 20px 20px 30px; }

You may want to define (red):


. . . ecolor='#ffffea';
slides.border=0;
slides.no_descriptions=1;
slides.pause=1;
slides.no_controls=1;
slides.nofade=0;
slides.no_added_linebreaks=1;

To get rid of the extra space underneath the slide show in all browsers.

Additionally:


slides.border=0;

and:


slides.nofade=0;

are meaningless, they are the default values.

zeltus
12-04-2007, 08:35 AM
Many thanks for the swift, accurate and helpful answers... I hope someone else finds these tips handy as well

Cheers

Bill

Go78Media
03-06-2008, 01:27 PM
Nevermind. :) Fixed the problem. It looks like even when I made the edits suggested above, I still have the same problems with IE. However, I simply removed the <p></p> tags from the provided code and it fixed the alignment problem.

jscheuer1
03-06-2008, 01:59 PM
I am now encountering a similar problem with IE 7.0. I made the above suggested edits and there still continues to be extra space at the base of the images that is pushing my page out of whack.

Please advise.

Thanks in advance. :)

http://sandiego.calipartybus.com

Get rid of the paragraph element, it adds a line break and a line's height in IE:


<TD COLSPAN=11>
<p>
<script type="text/javascript">
//Notes on Parameters: The only required parameter is the slides_array_name. If Width is used, so must Height.
//Interval is optional too. It is always last, either fourth after Width and Height or second after Slides_array_name.
//Usage: new inter_slide(Slides_array_name, Width, Height, Interval)
new inter_slide(slides,704,199)
</script>
</p>

</TD>