PDA

View Full Version : cmotion not scrolling



fishinatin
11-24-2007, 03:41 AM
1) Script Title: Cmotion

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/cmotiongallery.htm

3) Describe problem: scrolls fine if i set startpos to 1 or 2 but not 0 which is where I need it, unless I resize the browser window.


Any help is greatly appreciated

jscheuer1
11-24-2007, 06:48 AM
If the demo page on Dynamic Drive here that you linked to in your post works in your browser (it is set to 0), then it is something about your setup that is causing a problem. In that case:

Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic code so we can check it out.

If not, it is something to do with your browser.

fishinatin
11-25-2007, 11:17 PM
Hi,

Yes the demo version does work in my browser,
here the link to the site..
http://www.reedphotography.com.au/gallery.html

Thank you :)

Oh also i have it going backwards at the moment so it is set to 1..

jscheuer1
11-26-2007, 06:11 AM
The only reason that I can see that its not working with 0 is:


</head>

<body>
<div id="motioncontainer" style="position:relative;overflow:hidden;">
<div id="motiongallery" style="position:absolute;center:0;top:0;white-space: nowrap;">

<nobr id="trueContainer">
<img src="images/im34.jpg"border=0>
<img src="images/ . . .

Which is known as invalid, center is not a style property (it can be used as a style value in some cases, but never as a property like you have it there) It should be:


</head>

<body>
<div id="motioncontainer" style="position:relative;overflow:hidden;">
<div id="motiongallery" style="position:absolute;left:0;top:0;white-space: nowrap;">

<nobr id="trueContainer">
<img src="images/im34.jpg"border=0>
<img src="images/ . . .

Once I changed that, it worked fine with var startpos=0;. Now, the images:

images/im17s.jpg
images/im03s.jpg

aren't on the server, or if they are, their names are different (upper and lower case matter on the web in filenames, locally they usually do not). This is not a big problem, but they will show as broken images in some browsers, so either remove them from the source code, or make sure that they are on the server and spelled correctly, including case.

I would also highly recommend that you optimise the images used on the page, many (if not all) are of a much larger byte size than necessary, dramatically slowing page load.

Finally (for now) if you are Matthew Reed, don't ever stop taking photographs, they are very good shots!

fishinatin
11-26-2007, 06:33 AM
Thank you thank you!!! it works :) I am not matthew reed but i will certainly let him know waht you said.
Thanks again 1 million times