PDA

View Full Version : Any link drop down......help



kbrooks
09-03-2004, 11:09 PM
I'm using the AnyLink Drop Down Menu:
http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

And I've run into sort of a snag. It works beautifully. Except the links I'm using it on are in a top frame that's not very tall. So the drop down menus, instead of dropping down, go UP. I suppose because they hit the bottom border of the frame and won't go any farther. So you only see the bottom link in the menu.

Ideally, I'd like it to drop down, past the edge of the frame and into the next frame. Is that possible at all?

It would also work to have it go to the side instead of down, but even then I'd get some of the links cut off. :(

Here's the page I'm working on and you can see what I mean: (It's a rough template; most of the links don't go anywhere on our site yet)
http://www.regmedctr.org/Znew/topframe.htm

cr3ative
09-04-2004, 05:57 AM
DHTML layers by default cannot cross over to another frame. You can get around this with DHTML using (window.createPopup()), but it's IE only, so DD don't have plans to implement it.

Try making the frame a bit bigger or the amount/size of dropdown smaller

Hope this helps
cr3ative

geaclaesson
09-16-2004, 12:51 PM
I was wondering if there's any way to make this script to scroll when it hits
the end of the screen.. My first menu would contain 27 links, so I need a
scroll.. is there any way I could implement this?

cr3ative
09-16-2004, 01:19 PM
You could modify this script http://www.javascriptkit.com/script/cut179.shtml to your needs, it can scroll a window when scrollwindow() is called. Just call this function when required in the menu. I think :o

Regards
cr3ative

geaclaesson
09-16-2004, 06:46 PM
Ok,

I might have been a little bit unclear about certain things... but i want a scrollbar.. not an automatic scroll :)

Ty.
:)

cr3ative
09-16-2004, 06:53 PM
Oh, oops, not a clue how to do that. (scrollbar inside menu)
Sorry for the confusion.

cr3ative

geaclaesson
09-17-2004, 09:51 AM
Ok,

I'm using the script to hover when having the mouse over a image.
Do you or anyone else have a script that would work as hover at the
same time as it's got an optional scrollbar? I would very much appreciate
it.

Susan BARLOW Holmes
09-24-2004, 06:40 AM
I don't know the answer, but in experimenting...I find that 13 links is all you can make so that the menu goes downward...any more links and the menu goes up. I have 54 links for it...so I don't know how to fix it. If you find a way... please let me know. This would be so perfect if I could only figure out how to make the menu go down. Anybody know how to contact the author of this script...perhaps he would know.
Susan / still smiling...but starting to wear down!

Susan BARLOW Holmes
09-24-2004, 07:11 AM
Experimenting again...I find that you can get your 27 links and make them go down by changing the code in the style sheet.


He shows:
font:normal 12px Verdana;
line-height:18px;

I changed it to:
font:normal 9px Verdana;
line-height:12px;

That way you can get a lot more in a small space! Now...if I could figure out how to get 54 on there. Tried putting it on the bottom of the page...and it still went off the top.

Good luck to you.

Susan

geaclaesson
09-24-2004, 11:48 AM
I figured out how to change it around..

found this piece of code:
document.write('<div id="dropmenudiv" style=" visibility:hidden;width:'+menuwidth+';background-color:'+menubgcolor+'" onMouseover="clearhidemenu()" onMouseout="dynamichide(event)"></div>')

which is what needs to be altered.. you simply add the style overflow:automatic; and height:250; that way it's allways 250 px high and scrolls.. (if you have info that fills more than 250 px)..

Now.. what I want is how do I set this to work with one specific menu instead of them all :D

gigabites
09-24-2004, 11:27 PM
IMO, this script is not designed to handle too much links :(
Thats why You saw 'abnormal things'... :p

cocidom
03-10-2009, 09:06 PM
hello, I have a same problem with the first poster. But I don't know where should I insert Window.createpopup()
Or I have an other type of problem? please somebody look onto my page!



shortly: I have 2 frames. left the navigation frame, and right the main pages. The drop right menu is droping left. but if I reach that to drop right, it cut by the frame border. :/
Somebody help me please!