PDA

View Full Version : Slashdot menu on mouseover ?

Exy
10-18-2007, 10:08 AM
1) Script Title:
Slasdhot menu
2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/slashdot.htm
3) Describe problem:
I'm trying to change the menu from opening on mouse click to openen on mouseover, 1 submenu open a time.
Initially this works, when i go over 1 submenu, the other submenus close.
But when i go over the menu fast, multiple submenus open instead of only 1.

Does anyone know how to fix this ?

edit: also closing is on mouseover, but with the same problem as opening.

D72
10-25-2007, 12:36 PM
Hi, yes i'm really curious too if it's possible. I tried to change some things in the javascript, but i'm not that good with making or changing such codes in a proper way.
It would be great if the behaviour of the menu could looks like on the Apple site
http://www.apple.com/mac/

(on the right)
I like the way that things goes into action while making a hover movement. So people understand faster and better to navigate on the website.

I also mentioned that the bottom button/image is not positioned at the bottom at all. That's probaly because of the reason that the image with the rounded corners can't locate there and keep it's rounded corner. Is this also possible to create, just like the menu on Apple?

Regards Dave

Ictinus
10-25-2007, 08:28 PM
Hi D72,
take a look at the links in my sig below. SDNMenu now has a onmouseover option.
onMouseover is enabled by default on the "SDNMenu example 36" and can be enabled in the configuration of the middle menu of the full "SDNMenu" example.
The delay before activating onmouseover (300ms i think) is currently not configurable, but you can find it easily in the code to change if you require.
Cheers

Exy
11-15-2007, 08:09 AM
This was what i was looking for,
thank you Ictinus.

D72
12-13-2007, 09:04 AM
Hi D72,