PDA

View Full Version : New to CSS, some help please..

ICC
10-14-2007, 08:18 PM
So I am a photographer and Ive decided to dump the flash and go with CSS. I have a fairly decent knowledge of html but I am 100% new to CSS. I have come up with the look I want and I also found a site with codes I want to incorporate.

I have chosen this as my basic layout (http://www.code-sucks.com/css%20layouts/fixed-width-css-layouts/2-column-css-layouts/fw-20-2-col/)
And I want to add this script to where it says navigation (http://www.cssplay.co.uk/menu/slide_show.html)
And I want this to be my navigation on the left (http://www.cssplay.co.uk/menus/flyout_horizontal.html)

Now my question is.... uh.. how do I make this all work? I know I dl the files and save them seperatly then I place the file link in the html in the <head> section. However, this dosent seem to be working for me. Can anyone maybe give a step by step instruction, or the finished code, or thoughts on the codes ive chosen?

boogyman
10-15-2007, 12:18 PM
my suggestion would be to do them one at a time. start with your structure, get that working, than work on your global navigation (second bar) than work on the local nav and body ... hint... use floats.

then after you get that looking how you want to begin with start to incorporate the two menu options. and if you have any questions about something specific we'll be here to help

ICC
10-15-2007, 07:54 PM
Ok thank you but I am 100% new to css so most of that didnt make sense. I have tried Ive spent about a day and a half on it it with no sucess. Should I post the coding?

ICC
10-15-2007, 08:16 PM
Ok so this is what the index.html looks like: --------------------------------

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />