PDA

View Full Version : RSS scroller feed - Error: Can't find



matsp
09-25-2007, 07:42 PM
1) Script Title: Pausing RSS scroller

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/rsspausescroller/index.htm

3) Describe problem:
I've installed the script and it at first seemed to work. When I change the feeds I want displayed however I always get "Error: Can't find requested RSS in list.
I give up trying to fetch RSS feed.". I've found it does this with all feed addresses apart from the dynamic drive one - the only one it displays results from (without it included i just get the error).

Any ideas where i'm going wrong please?

Script on my site: http://withnature.co.uk/index.php

ddadmin
09-26-2007, 08:41 AM
Inside scrollerbridge.php, did you remember to edit the list of RSS feeds to show?


// Define your list of RSS URLs- "RSS_id"=> "URL to RSS feed"
$rsslist=array(
"cnn" => "http://rss.cnn.com/rss/cnn_topstories.rss",
"bbc" => "http://newsrss.bbc.co.uk/rss/newsonline_uk_edition/front_page/rss.xml",
"news.com" => "http://news.com.com/2547-1_3-0-5.xml",
"slashdot" => "http://rss.slashdot.org/Slashdot/slashdot",
"dynamicdrive" => "http://www.dynamicdrive.com/export.php?type=new",
);

Right now on your page, you're trying to call the "dynamicdrive" feed, though such an entry doesn't seem to exist in scrollerbridge.php, hence this error: http://withnature.co.uk/lastrss/scrollerbridge.php?id=dynamicdrive

matsp
09-26-2007, 09:21 AM
Hi. Thanks for replying. Yes i edited the feeds. At the moment the feeds in scrollerbridge are:

// Define your list of RSS URLs- "RSS_id"=> "URL to RSS feed"
$rsslist=array(
"bbc" => "http://newsrss.bbc.co.uk/rss/newsonline_uk_edition/front_page/rss.xml",
);


When i tested it with the default settings i found that whilst i got no error message it only displayed the dynamic drive results. i've tried it with many other feed addresses with no success. Its baffling.

CaribbeanOS-X
09-26-2007, 04:46 PM
I believe i am having similar issues.

here is my thread just above yours.

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=25099

matsp
09-27-2007, 04:12 AM
Ah! Thank you carribeanos-x.

I hadnt realised i needed to edit this:
new rsspausescroller("myfeed", "pscroller1", "rssclass", 3000, "_new", "description+date")

I also thought it would mix all the feed results up in one scroller. I'll go back to the other one (gAjax RSS Pausing Scroller (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex18/gajaxpausescroller.htm)), which does that but doesnt enable syndication.

Thanks for the help.