PDA

View Full Version : Jim's DHTML Menu V5.7



bradj
09-19-2007, 09:52 PM
1) Script Title: Jim's DHTML Menu V5.7

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/jimmenu/

3) Describe problem: This was very intuitive and I completed my menu in no time, only now, I face a huge road block. I would like to place the menu in a div or table. I already had a site design built out and decided to add another tier of navigation, thus putting together a menu with this script. The website I have completed is centered, which makes me need to somehow get this to load in a div. HELP!

Here is my menu: http://www.garagememphis.com/staging/FCC/nav/example2.htm

Here is the site layout I am trying to get it into: http://www.garagememphis.com/staging/FCC/nav/staff.html

boogyman
09-19-2007, 11:49 PM
that is caused by the navigation being initiated outside the table structure. I did not dig through your code, but if you find the top of the page in your code and just create a new table row / data entry.

now I would also be reminiscent if I didn't mention that you should abandon tables as the rendering schema as they were designed for tabular / record type data. You had me going when you said you wanted to put it inside a <div>. If you did not have that much difficulty implementing the menu script I am sure you could convert the site into a standards compliant layout, especially since you do not have the need to create multiple columns.

bradj
09-24-2007, 05:27 PM
oh i'm very aware that i am not doing any development work here more current than 1997 (and have no problem making fun of myself for that). i don't make a living doing this sort of thing, but right now i am just desperate to get this menu centered, which you would think is a simple thing to do.

you said this boogyman: "that is caused by the navigation being initiated outside the table structure. I did not dig through your code, but if you find the top of the page in your code and just create a new table row / data entry."

and unless i'm missing what you're saying entirely, simply putting a table row before the body so that it loads prior to the body loading, that won't work.

can anyone help me center this menu? i would imagine Jim's Menu is used by a ton of people, and i find it hard to believe no one has ever wanted to center it on their site.

if anyone can help me understand it i would be very grateful.

boogyman
09-24-2007, 05:40 PM
you need to take the onload="init()" out of the body and move it into your table, or you would need to add some css to bring the top level element of your menu into the center... I would suggest the former because you wont have to worry about if you resize your table structure.



<table width="774" style="height:100%" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>

<td width="774" style="background:url(images/x.jpg) top no-repeat ">

<table width="774" style="height:100%;" border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>
<td width="774" height="71" onload="init()"></td>
</tr>
<tr>
<td height="100%">

<table width="774" style="height:188; " border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<tr>

<td width="774">
<img src="images/header5.jpg" alt="" border="0">
</td>
</tr>
</table>

</td>
</tr>
</table>

</td>
</tr>

</table>

insanemonkey
09-24-2007, 05:43 PM
Have you tried using the center tags arount the script?


<center>
<Script here>
</center>


thats just an idea cuz i dont know alot about js

boogyman
09-24-2007, 05:45 PM
his code is being generated dynamically, he would need to go in and edit every single browser model in order to do that monkey, i think it would just be easier to initate it within the table layout structure rather then the body, which is where its being generated and thus why its not "centering"

insanemonkey
09-24-2007, 05:52 PM
lol..ok...

I was just telling him something sir boogyman,

I don't know anything about javascript that much and I saw that when i replied you beat me too it....lol