PDA

View Full Version : Adding a class to a link based on page location

dog
09-12-2007, 10:03 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to ASP and have recently started using the #include jazz. It's pretty useful.

Just now I replaced a submenu that appeared on three pages with:

#include file="../includes/submenu-ins.asp"

Submenu-ins.asp looks like this:

<div id="submenu">
<ul>
<li><a href="../institucional/default.asp" title="A Home Care Medical">A Home Care Medical</a></li>
<li><a href="../institucional/historia.asp" title="História">História</a></li>
<li><a href="../institucional/tecnologia.asp" title="Tecnologia">Tecnologia</a></li>
</ul>
</div>

The only drawback is that previously I had given a class, called 'selected' to the link of the page being viewed.

i.e. On 'default.asp' the link to 'default.asp' had the class 'selected', like this:

<div id="submenu">
<ul>
<li><a class="selected" href="../institucional/default.asp" title="A Home Care Medical">A Home Care Medical</a></li>
<li><a href="../institucional/historia.asp" title="História">História</a></li>
<li><a href="../institucional/tecnologia.asp" title="Tecnologia">Tecnologia</a></li>
</ul>
</div>

...on 'historia.asp' the historia link had the class 'selected' and on 'tecnologia.asp' the tecnologia link had the class 'selected'.

Does anyone know how I could use the include jazz and still use this system of giving a certain class to the selected links?

Thanks,

Dog

dog
09-25-2007, 05:08 PM
Hello again,

I think I over-complicated my problem a little in the previous post so I'm gonna re-explain from scratch.

I'm using an ASP include to call the HTML for the menu onto my pages. Once this HTML has arrived I'd like to add a class (or the CSS directly) to one of the links in the menu. I want this to happen on all pages and the CSS to be added to whichever link relates to the page that is being viewed.

Make sense?

I think it might be possible with Javascript but I'm open to any suggestions.