PDA

View Full Version : A really problematic script.

inkosi
08-08-2007, 12:20 AM
Ok, I'm pretty new to javascript, and I've just been learning through tutorials.

With my limited knowledge I'm trying to put together a cross fade effect when switching DIV sections of a page. Everything was working fine until I tried to write the element of it which changes the opacity of the divs. Basically variables stop being defined.

The code is pretty short and simple(i knew it was too simple :( ), so here you go. I included the corresponding HTML.

<script type="text/javascript">

var ids=['features','cs','faq'];

function fire(id)
{
var myobj=document.getElementById(id).style;

for (var i=0;i<ids.length;i++)
{
if (ids[i]==id)
{
myobj.opacity=0;
myobj.display='block';
for(i=0;i<100;i++)
{
setTimeout('myobj.opacity=i/10', 8*i);
}
}

else
{
document.getElementById(ids[i]).style.display='none';
}
}
}
</script>

<div><input type='submit' Onclick='fire("faq")' value='faq'><input type='submit' Onclick='fire("features")' value='feat'><input type='submit' Onclick='fire("cs")' value='cs'></div>

<div id="faq" style="display:none;">
<p>
Lorem Ipsum is simply dummy text of the printing and typesetting industry. Lorem Ipsum has been the industry's standard dummy text ever since the 1500s, when an unknown printer took a galley of type and scrambled it to make a type specimen book. It has survived not only five centuries, but also the leap into electronic typesetting, remaining essentially unchanged. It was popularised in the 1960s with the release of Letraset sheets containing Lorem Ipsum passages, and more recently with desktop publishing software like Aldus PageMaker including versions of Lorem Ipsum.
</p>
</div>

<div id="cs" style="display:none;">
<p>