PDA

View Full Version : Making Document Text Sizer Persistant

T313C0mun1s7
04-06-2005, 05:50 PM
In regards to Document Text Sizer by Taewook Kang
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex9/textsizer.htm

I am using (a version) of this script for accessibility to change the text size of the content div of my webpage. You can see it in action at:
http://www.keeptechworking.com

Of course every time a visitor returns or visits a new page it is reset and any changes need to be reapplied. I know there must be a way to make this persistent, but not being a developer I don't know how to do it. Anybodyís help with this would be greatly appreciated.

The way I envision it, any visit where the control goes unused would have no effect. However, whenever a person used the control it would set or modify a cookie that maintains the changed text size on all other pages within my domain for this and all future sessions. That is unless they delete the cookie. ;)

Thank you very much for any assistance you can provide.

mwinter
04-06-2005, 06:35 PM
I am using (a version) of this script for accessibility to change the text size of the content div of my webpage.Users can use their built-in resizing options. Opera and Firefox both provide powerful resizing functionality. However, for IE users to use the Text Size menu option successfully, you must refrain from specifying font sizes using pixels (or points). Use percentages instead. Moreover, if you don't make the font size so small in the first place, they won't need to make it larger, will they? ;)

To directly address your query, persistence is very possible. However, I'd prefer you to at least think over the above before resorting to a script.

Mike

T313C0mun1s7
04-06-2005, 06:56 PM
Sure there are many views on this, and many browsers have also tried to address the issue. That has nothing to do with my question.