PDA

View Full Version : Splash screen help please



efettig
04-06-2005, 05:45 AM
ok...tell me if this is possible please...I would like to use images in the splash screen and not necessarily text as the images are my text....I have created the page at http://www.crestfallendesign.com/introscreen.html
I thought it should work....but.....
...it's not working... :confused:
is it possible to do this? and if so what am I doing wrong that's making it not work?? thanks for any and all help!

Erica Fettig

p.s. the script is http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex3/dynamicsplash_dev.htm

jscheuer1
04-06-2005, 06:13 AM
Lucky you, I was just working on one of these for someone else, try this:


<html>

<head>
<title>Intro Screen...</title>
</head>

<body bgcolor="#000000" text="#FFFFFF">

<div id="splashcontainer" style="position:absolute;width:350px;"></div>

<layer id="splashcontainerns" width=450></layer>


<script>

/*
Dynamic Splash Screen effect- Dynamic Drive (www.dynamicdrive.com)
For full source code, installation instructions, 100's more DHTML scripts, and Terms Of Use,
Visit http://dynamicdrive.com
*/

//Specify the paths of the images to be used in the splash screen, if any.
//If none, empty out array (ie: preloadimages=new Array())
var preloadimages=new Array("http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro1.jpg","http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro2.jpg","http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro3.jpg","http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro4.jpg","http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro5.jpg","http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro6.jpg","http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro7.jpg","http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro8.jpg","http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro9.jpg","http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro10.jpg","http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro11.jpg","http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro12.jpg","http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro13.jpg")
//configure delay in miliseconds between each message (default: 2 seconds)
var intervals=2000
//configure destination URL
var targetdestination="http://www.crestfallendesign.com/"

//configure messages to be displayed
//If message contains apostrophe('), backslash them (ie: "I\'m fine")

var splashmessage=new Array()
var openingtags='<font face="Arial" size="4">'
splashmessage[0]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro1.jpg>'
splashmessage[1]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro2.jpg>'
splashmessage[2]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro3.jpg>'
splashmessage[3]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro4.jpg>'
splashmessage[4]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro5.jpg>'
splashmessage[5]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro6.jpg>'
splashmessage[6]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro7.jpg>'
splashmessage[7]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro8.jpg>'
splashmessage[8]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro9.jpg>'
splashmessage[9]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro10.jpg>'
splashmessage[10]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro11.jpg>'
splashmessage[11]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro12.jpg>'
splashmessage[12]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro13.jpg>'
splashmessage[13]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro13.jpg>'
splashmessage[14]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro13.jpg>'
splashmessage[15]='<img src=http://www.crestfallendesign.com/intro13.jpg>'
var closingtags='</font>'

//Do not edit below this line (besides HTML code at the very bottom)

var xtd=0

var ns4=document.layers?1:0
var ie4=document.all?1:0
var ns6=document.getElementById&&!document.all?1:0
var theimages=new Array()

//preload images
if (document.images){
for (p=0;p<preloadimages.length;p++){
theimages[p]=new Image()
theimages[p].src=preloadimages[p]
}
}

function displaysplash(){
if (xtd<splashmessage.length){
sc_cross.style.visibility="hidden"
sc_cross.innerHTML='<b><center>'+openingtags+splashmessage[xtd]+closingtags+'</center></b>'
sc_cross.style.left=ns6?parseInt(window.pageXOffset)+parseInt(window.innerWidth)/2-parseInt(sc_cross.style.width)/2 : document.body.scrollLeft+document.body.clientWidth/2-parseInt(sc_cross.style.width)/2
sc_cross.style.top=ns6?parseInt(window.pageYOffset)+parseInt(window.innerHeight)/2-sc_cross.offsetHeight/2 : document.body.scrollTop+document.body.clientHeight/2-sc_cross.offsetHeight/2
sc_cross.style.visibility="visible"
xtd++
}
else{
window.location=targetdestination
return
}
setTimeout("displaysplash()",intervals)
}

function displaysplash_ns(){
if (xtd<splashmessage.length){
sc_ns.visibility="hide"
sc_ns.document.write('<b>'+openingtags+splashmessage[xtd]+closingtags+'</b>')
sc_ns.document.close()

sc_ns.left=pageXOffset+window.innerWidth/2-sc_ns.document.width/2
sc_ns.top=pageYOffset+window.innerHeight/2-sc_ns.document.height/2

sc_ns.visibility="show"
xtd++
}
else{
window.location=targetdestination
return
}
setTimeout("displaysplash_ns()",intervals)
}



function positionsplashcontainer(){
if (ie4||ns6){
sc_cross=ns6?document.getElementById("splashcontainer"):document.all.splashcontainer
displaysplash()
}
else if (ns4){
sc_ns=document.splashcontainerns
sc_ns.visibility="show"
displaysplash_ns()
}
else
window.location=targetdestination
}
window.onload=positionsplashcontainer

</script>

<!--Set href in below link to the URL of the target destination-->

<div align="right">
<table border="0" width="200" height="100%" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0">
<td width="100%" valign="bottom" align="right">
[ <a href="http://www.crestfallendesign.com/"><font color="#FFFFFF">Skip Intro</font></a> ]
</td>
</table>
</div>


</body>
</html>

efettig
04-06-2005, 06:19 AM
nope..still doesn't work... :(

jscheuer1
04-06-2005, 06:21 AM
Works fine here. Your server must be messing with it. I'll get back to you, that is unless you changed anything.

efettig
04-06-2005, 06:23 AM
hmmmm......

efettig
04-06-2005, 06:26 AM
ok this is weird...you say you see the images....I tried IE and Netscape and all I see is a black screen and the skip intro link..what's the deal?

efettig
04-06-2005, 06:28 AM
could be server...my server is doteasy.com
but I have used other dhtml scripts and they work just fine on the server...I didn't change anything.....thanks so much for your help :)
Erica

jscheuer1
04-06-2005, 06:28 AM
First off, try it without the !DOCTYPE and try it locally, on your own computer.

jscheuer1
04-06-2005, 06:29 AM
Doesn't look like the server, looks like the doctype, perhaps.

efettig
04-06-2005, 06:34 AM
yes I see that now that you mentioned it...I'm using Netscape Composer and it seems to put it in there automatically...did I push a button I shouldn't have? lol
I'll try wordpad

jscheuer1
04-06-2005, 06:38 AM
I took the doctype out, didn't fix it but, I also noticed changes in the number of blank lines. Other changes may have been made for you. Composer does that, depending on how it is configured. Try just pasting it into a plain text editor and saving it as introscreen.html

efettig
04-06-2005, 06:47 AM
well it still doesn't work but at least it's not giving me the errors on page thing now

not working locally either hmmm

jscheuer1
04-06-2005, 06:52 AM
I just did a file compare and Composer did strip out and change essential code. Grab a fresh copy from what I pasted into the message, use a plain text editor to save it, notepad works. Believe me it works.

efettig
04-06-2005, 06:59 AM
ALRIGHT!!! ok it works!! thank you SOOOOO very much for your help...now I gotta tweek it.....thanks again!
regards...
Erica

jscheuer1
04-06-2005, 07:02 AM
You're welcome, lay off the Composer, at least with this page. There may be a way to configure Composer not to change anything on its own, but I'm not sure of that.