PDA

View Full Version : Fade/Gradient Image? (Need Help ASAP)

techno_race
07-18-2007, 10:34 PM
Hi, does anyone know how to accomplish the effect of "fading" your picture?
For example, go to http://www.mozilla.com and look at the top and bottom of the Firefox banner. See that the edges of the banner fade into the color of the page? That's the effect I mean.
Does anyone know if this is possible with Macromedia Fireworks MX, FreeHand MX, Paint.NET, Ulead PhotoImpact or just plain PHP, Perl, HTML, CSS or JS? If so, please tell me how. I'm not good with things like Illustrator and Photoshop, and even if I was, I don't have them. :p

Twey
07-18-2007, 10:44 PM
I've no idea about those things, but you can do it with the GIMP (http://www.gimp.org/)'s gradient tool very easily.

djr33
07-19-2007, 05:07 AM
Heh. It's possible with PHP.

But just use a photo editor. Many of those would work.

Sliight
07-19-2007, 07:44 AM
That mozilla site really looks like the 1 pixel wide 200+ pixel high gradient picture background, with a nice picture over the top which blends in nicely. The whole thing is uniform on the left and right edges. Looks just like the MSN.com site but blended on both sides.

I'm definitely loving GIMP... very cool how it gives you preset pixel sizes based on what you just copied...

techno_race
09-15-2007, 05:54 PM
Thank you for your sugestions.

Heh. It's possible with PHP.
Okay, but how?

coothead
09-15-2007, 06:41 PM
Hi there techno_race.

you might like to check out this site...

http://tools.dynamicdrive.com/gradient/
coothead

Twey
09-15-2007, 07:08 PM
Y'know, DD, the resulting image from that gradient tool only needs to be a pixel wide...

techno_race
09-15-2007, 07:40 PM
Yet quite tall... 1 x 482 isn't exactly my taste...

djr33
09-16-2007, 01:16 AM
I'm not good with things like Illustrator and PhotoshopBut you're good with PHP, CSS, JS, Paint.net and Fireworks?
What exactly would "things like" Photoshop be? Fireworks? :p

Aaaanyway....