View Full Version : Need Help with Drop Down Tabs

07-13-2007, 03:49 PM
1) Script Title: Drop Down Tabs (5 styles)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/droptabmenu.htm

3) Describe problem:
I'm using a header.html tag on my pages but I want the tab of that page to be highlighted when on that page. I've tried turning the "auto" function on but the tab isn't highlighted. Is there another way to do this but still use my header.html file? Thanks. (I"m just a novice so please be as descriptive as possible)

07-14-2007, 07:01 AM
Do you mean you're using SSI or PHP to dynamically include the contents of header.html onto your pages? That in itself shouldn't throw off the "auto select" feature of the script. What will though is if your pages' URLs are "out of the ordinary". Please post a link to the page on your site that contains the problematic script so we can check it out.

07-18-2007, 06:43 AM
Hello, here is a link to a test page:


I've tried typing an integer too and that doesn't work. I'm using php to include the header.html. I tried moving the following code to below the menu items instead, and it worked. The problem was the other info in my header.html didn't show up on the page such as my title, and background image.

<script type="text/javascript">
//SYNTAX: tabdropdown.init("menu_id", [integer OR "auto"])
tabdropdown.init("colortab", "auto")

Thanks for the help.

07-18-2007, 07:46 AM
Well, in the case of the link you provided, it doesn't work because you have no tabs with a URL that matches that page's. Your page's URL is:


While the closest URL you have within any of your main tabs is:


No match anywhere :)

07-18-2007, 02:58 PM
I just went in and changed the marinas page to .php in the header.html file and it still doesn't seem to be working. Even if I use an integer it doesn't work. I had tried moving the code in my previous post to below the different drop menu lists which made the tabs highlight on the selected page but the rest of my header code didn't work. Such as my background picture didn't show up.

07-18-2007, 03:35 PM
I think I figured out the problem. I was missing a <body> tag which was preventing my background images from showing up. I'll try not to screw anything else up.

Thank you for the help.