PDA

View Full Version : Is there a way...?

maverick
07-05-2007, 02:34 AM
Hi,

I have a small html site where I write reviews of books I've read and I am try to find a way to keep a track of the number of reviews by genre (horror,crime).

Is there a way that i can insert a php script into each table (each review is in a table box) so I can later display at the top of the genre page "There is ... reviews in this section." ?

And if thats possible, would it be possible to display the total amount of reviews in the whole site like "We have read a total of ... books." ? Sorry I'm a total php newbie, only good with html.

Thanks for your help, :)

Mav

Jas
07-05-2007, 03:20 AM
Absolutely, though it will take some re-structuring, I'm sure. First off, all of your reviews will need to be in a MySQL Database (are they in HTML tables now?) and then you can use PHP to retrieve the information. Another advantage is that users can search your reviews. But again, this will take some re-structuring. If you need to learn about PHP, you can take a crash-course with video tutorials at www.phpvideotutorials.com or www.sampsonresume.com (I would also recommend reading up on it with google searches). Otherewise, have fun :)

JShor
07-05-2007, 02:54 PM
Yes you can do this easily in php. Since you are a newbie @ php, you may have a little difficulty at first, but practice makes perfect :)

First off, in your web hosting control panel, create a user, and a database, and add them together with ALL permissions set. Next, go to your administration for mysql (if you have one, usually it is phpMyAdmin), click on the database name you created to the left, and click on the SQL tab on the top.

From there, run this query:

CREATE TABLE `reviews` (
`id` int(11) NOT NULL auto_increment,
`genre` varchar(255) collate latin1_general_ci NOT NULL,
`horror` varchar(255) collate latin1_general_ci NOT NULL,
PRIMARY KEY (`id`)