PDA

View Full Version : What to do with the code?



thn4
03-27-2005, 02:29 AM
Hey guys, i'm completely new at this, and i'm not sure how this dynamic scripting thing works! I'm trying to use the Conveyer Belt Slideshow All and i'm not sure how to get it to work. Do i just cut and paste the entire code into my code box and replace the links for the pictures with my own? Help!

I've got an online album thing with different sized pictures to use, and i've tried to just type the links into the following code and kept everything else pretty much default, but that doesn't work...any suggestions?

Like I said, i'm really new at this...sorry.

If this helps, here's the code:

<script type="text/javascript">

/***********************************************
* Conveyor belt slideshow script- Dynamic Drive DHTML code library (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice MUST stay intact for legal use
* Visit Dynamic Drive at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
***********************************************/


//Specify the slider's width (in pixels)
var sliderwidth="300px"
//Specify the slider's height
var sliderheight="150px"
//Specify the slider's slide speed (larger is faster 1-10)
var slidespeed=3
//configure background color:
slidebgcolor="#EAEAEA"

//Specify the slider's images
var leftrightslide=new Array()
var finalslide=''
leftrightslide[0]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook1.gif" border=1></a>'
leftrightslide[1]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook2.gif" border=1></a>'
leftrightslide[2]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook3.gif" border=1></a>'
leftrightslide[3]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook4.gif" border=1></a>'
leftrightslide[4]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook5.gif" border=1></a>'

//Specify gap between each image (use HTML):
var imagegap=" "

//Specify pixels gap between each slideshow rotation (use integer):
var slideshowgap=5


////NO NEED TO EDIT BELOW THIS LINE////////////

var copyspeed=slidespeed
leftrightslide='<nobr>'+leftrightslide.join(imagegap)+'</nobr>'
var iedom=document.all||document.getElementById
if (iedom)
document.write('<span id="temp" style="visibility:hidden;position:absolute;top:-100px;left:-9000px">'+leftrightslide+'</span>')
var actualwidth=''
var cross_slide, ns_slide

function fillup(){
if (iedom){
cross_slide=document.getElementById? document.getElementById("test2") : document.all.test2
cross_slide2=document.getElementById? document.getElementById("test3") : document.all.test3
cross_slide.innerHTML=cross_slide2.innerHTML=leftrightslide
actualwidth=document.all? cross_slide.offsetWidth : document.getElementById("temp").offsetWidth
cross_slide2.style.left=actualwidth+slideshowgap+"px"
}
else if (document.layers){
ns_slide=document.ns_slidemenu.document.ns_slidemenu2
ns_slide2=document.ns_slidemenu.document.ns_slidemenu3
ns_slide.document.write(leftrightslide)
ns_slide.document.close()
actualwidth=ns_slide.document.width
ns_slide2.left=actualwidth+slideshowgap
ns_slide2.document.write(leftrightslide)
ns_slide2.document.close()
}
lefttime=setInterval("slideleft()",30)
}
window.onload=fillup

function slideleft(){
if (iedom){
if (parseInt(cross_slide.style.left)>(actualwidth*(-1)+8))
cross_slide.style.left=parseInt(cross_slide.style.left)-copyspeed+"px"
else
cross_slide.style.left=parseInt(cross_slide2.style.left)+actualwidth+slideshowgap+"px"

if (parseInt(cross_slide2.style.left)>(actualwidth*(-1)+8))
cross_slide2.style.left=parseInt(cross_slide2.style.left)-copyspeed+"px"
else
cross_slide2.style.left=parseInt(cross_slide.style.left)+actualwidth+slideshowgap+"px"

}
else if (document.layers){
if (ns_slide.left>(actualwidth*(-1)+8))
ns_slide.left-=copyspeed
else
ns_slide.left=ns_slide2.left+actualwidth+slideshowgap

if (ns_slide2.left>(actualwidth*(-1)+8))
ns_slide2.left-=copyspeed
else
ns_slide2.left=ns_slide.left+actualwidth+slideshowgap
}
}


if (iedom||document.layers){
with (document){
document.write('<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><td>')
if (iedom){
write('<div style="position:relative;width:'+sliderwidth+';height:'+sliderheight+';overflow:hidden">')
write('<div style="position:absolute;width:'+sliderwidth+';height:'+sliderheight+';background-color:'+slidebgcolor+'" onMouseover="copyspeed=0" onMouseout="copyspeed=slidespeed">')
write('<div id="test2" style="position:absolute;left:0px;top:0px"></div>')
write('<div id="test3" style="position:absolute;left:-1000px;top:0px"></div>')
write('</div></div>')
}
else if (document.layers){
write('<ilayer width='+sliderwidth+' height='+sliderheight+' name="ns_slidemenu" bgColor='+slidebgcolor+'>')
write('<layer name="ns_slidemenu2" left=0 top=0 onMouseover="copyspeed=0" onMouseout="copyspeed=slidespeed"></layer>')
write('<layer name="ns_slidemenu3" left=0 top=0 onMouseover="copyspeed=0" onMouseout="copyspeed=slidespeed"></layer>')
write('</ilayer>')
}
document.write('</td></table>')
}
}
</script>

<p align="center"><font face="Arial" size="-2">Free DHTML scripts provided by<br>
<a href="http://dynamicdrive.com">Dynamic Drive</a></font></p>

jscheuer1
03-27-2005, 06:57 AM
This script needs to go in the body section of your page. If your code box is for that, yes. Otherwise, find a way to insert it directly into the body section at the point you want the slideshow to appear. What are you using to design the page?

thn4
03-27-2005, 07:25 AM
yeah, i can insert the code into where i want it to appear. I think the type of code for the page is HTML coding...is that what you're asking? I can get other images and stuff to appear using HTML coding. but i don't get it - am i only supposed to replace the links of the example pictures with my own pictures? can i keep everything else default and everything will be okay? With the code - i'm not supposed to touch anything under the line that says "no need to edit underneath this line?" that means i just have to worry about stuff above that line? Thanks for any input you have...

jscheuer1
03-27-2005, 07:40 AM
Yes, you only need to change the things it says to change. What I was asking about what you use to design was, like I design in a text editor. I write the code into a file and just upload the file to the site. Some people use Front Page, that works differently. There are lots of other design programs. Many web hosts (the people who run the server your site is on) provide online design programs that you log on to in order to design your page. So what do you use? The answer to that will help me better understand how to advise you.

thn4
03-27-2005, 07:49 AM
all i see is a box where text would go, much like this message box. You can type in code in Normal mode or guided mode, which tells you if there are errors or open tags in your code. the code i have started in the box is for a 3 row, 1 column table with a different background in each cell block, and images in the first and second rows. I'm trying to get the scrolling pictures in the third block, and i can insert the code into that area.

When i cut and paste that entire code into that space in my box, i change the links

leftrightslide[0]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook1.gif" border=1></a>'
leftrightslide[1]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook2.gif" border=1></a>'
leftrightslide[2]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook3.gif" border=1></a>'
leftrightslide[3]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook4.gif" border=1></a>'
leftrightslide[4]='<a href="http://"><img src="dynamicbook5.gif" border=1></a>'

with my own links to pictures from an online album that allows direct linking. I click on "update page" ...and nothing shows up. And that's pretty much where i'm at right now.

jscheuer1
03-27-2005, 05:19 PM
OK, I'm still not sure what the solution is but, sounds like you are doing what you can, properly. I take it that this box you are typing or pasting into is on the server, correct? If so, do they also provide a way for you to upload files to your site? In any case, the problem sounds like a script conflict. I suspect that the server is already running scripts on your page to create banners and/or popups, or just to format certain elements of your markup for you. If one of these scripts conflicts with the one you are trying to use, that would explain it. To trouble shoot something like this or at least to see if it is the problem, I need to see your live page, so:
.