PDA

View Full Version : Script: Top Navigational Bar III



schiffhl
09-03-2004, 02:47 PM
I'm really new to web site development - so this may sound pretty silly...but here goes:

I'm trying to use the Top Navigational Bar III script. I've managed to get the menu bar where I want it with changes to colors, fonts, etc. I can successfully get a link to work to another web page on the internet, but I can't get it to work to another page within my web page/site. I've read the customization information and I'm not getting what's talked about referencing the baseHREF variable.

For example, I'm developing my web site on my hard drive, under C:\WEB\myweb13. I have the index.htm and a few pages that I want to link from it, called bulletins.htm, schedule.htm, etc. I want to be able to use the menu bar to link to these lower level pages. The customization information talks about a "resources/" directory, and I don't know what this is (it wasn't in the zip file that I downloaded). What should my baseHREF be set to, and what should I set my url's to in addMainItem, addSubmenuItem, and in addChildmenuItem?

I should probably mention that I'm using FrontPage 2003 to create my pages.

Thanks for all your help!

Linda

cr3ative
09-03-2004, 04:10 PM
I'm not clear on your problem; the script should be flexible enough to do what you want it to, and i've put an example below:

For compatibility for both when you're also editing in FP and when it's uploaded, you can use this style of link:

addSubmenuItem("yourwebpage.htm","Preferred Link","_blank","");

Your baseHREF is for example http:// or c:\, but with the example above, you don't need to state a baseHREF, just the HTML filename.
This will work on and offline.

Hope this helps!
cr3ative

schiffhl
09-03-2004, 04:46 PM
Thanks for trying to help me...

I have my baseHREF set to "". I set the addMenuItem to "C:/WEB/myweb13/bulletins.htm" for the url field. In FrontPage, when I select to Preview the page, then select the link from the menu pulldown for the bulletin, I get an Internet Explorer Script Error - Access is denied. The URL in the error message window shows "file://C:\Documents and Settings\lschiffh\Local Settings\Temporary Internet Files\FrontPageTempDir\pvw16.htm".

I don't know why it's looking in this location instead of what I seem to have hard-coded in the script for the url address, ie "C:/WEB/myweb13/bulletins.htm".

If I select the FrontPage "Preview in Browser" option, when I click on the link it brings up the page that I want it to.

cr3ative
09-03-2004, 05:02 PM
It's normal for Frontpage to do that, because it runs your website in the Preview pane from a temporary folder. You need to save it, or use Preview in Browser, as you say.

For the links to work on the internet you need to change your url address from:
"C:/WEB/myweb13/bulletins.htm"

to:
"bulletins.htm"

, otherwise the link won't work when you upload it on any computer but your own; try it on any other computer and the link would fail.

Hope this helps
cr3ative

sbode
09-11-2004, 09:05 AM
Just keep a browser window open to test and minimize when not using. It is easier, it saves the panic. If you have iframe content that has dhtml effects, you won't see that either in the preview pane.