PDA

View Full Version : help with menu



intylerwetrust
05-31-2007, 09:41 PM
I am very unexperienced with javascript and dhtml but was hoping of a script that i could use to create a menu simliar to www.gap.com more graphic based. I don't want to go with layers as they are very unreliable and not very good as far as menus go. Does anyone know of a script I could adapt to customize that far?

mburt
06-01-2007, 12:11 AM
First: What's your definition of layers? Secondly, duplicated a menu from a specific site can be very time consuming. Try styling one of menus in Dynamic Drive's library.

aprender
06-01-2007, 02:23 AM
Hi All,

I've got the vertical menu from the below link:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/cs...e-blocks-menu/

And now,I would like to add a horizontal menu list to it like in the below link:

http://www.javascriptkit.com/script/...icalmenu.shtml

Questions:

Here's the code where I need help:

<div class="menutitle">Element</div>
<ul>
<li><a href="#">Water</a>
<ul>
<li><a href="direction">Full</a></li>
<li><a href="direction">Half</a></li>
</ul>
</li>
<li><a href="direction">Hot</a></li>
<li><a href="direction">Cold</a></li>
</ul>
</div>

1. So onmousemove over water it should slide out a horizontal list menu Full and Half with the same style as of the vertical menu(i.e.color,text etc).

2. When I use IE I see a whitespace in the vertical menu to it's extreme right corner but this isn't the case with Mozilla.So what is the best way to strike a compatability between IE & Mozilla to show it as the same?

3. Watermark code:

------------------------------------------------------------------------
<script language="JavaScript1.2">

/*
Watermark Backgound Image Script- &#169; Dynamic Drive (www.dynamicdrive.com)
For full source code, 100's more DHTML scripts, and TOS,
visit dynamicdrive.com
*/

if (document.all||document.getElementById)
document.body.style.background="url('http://') white center no-repeat fixed"

</script>
----------------------------------------------------------------------

What should would be the best dimension suitable for a JPEG image to have as a watermark on a webpage?

That's about it for now!

Kindly,write the right code which can simply be pasted in the code above and please reply according to the corresponding question.

Hoping for a quick response.

Cheers!

A