PDA

View Full Version : Help with slide show



cwcorl
05-31-2007, 12:40 PM
1) Script Title: Dhtml slide show (manual)

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/dhtmlslide.htm

3) Describe problem: This is my first attempt to build a website, so I am a beginner with very little knowledge of html,etc. I am trying to get the above slide show to work on my website. I don't understand how I edit the script to insert my photos? I am using a desk top web builder package and copied the script to one of my pages however the photos don't appear. So I know that I have not defined the path to my photos correctly. They are stored in a file on my hard drive. The next question is what is meant by linked or not? I know this is very elementary but would appreciate any help.

ddadmin
05-31-2007, 02:12 PM
If you set:


var linkornot=0

to 1, than you can have slides that are hyperlinked to a URL, by then defining the variables that follow:


//Set corresponding URLs for above images. Define ONLY if variable linkornot equals "1"
photoslink[0]=""
photoslink[1]=""
photoslink[2]=""

if it's set to 0, defining the URLs will have no effect.

cwcorl
06-01-2007, 01:23 PM
Thanks for the help. I got the show working in my Ewisoft Webbuilder software on preview but when I uploaded to my site ,http://www.conchbonker.com , the images did not come up. Do I have to upload the images separately, if so how do I do that?
Thanks so much for your help.

dendasaro
06-01-2007, 02:47 PM
Hi
While we're at this, I've got the slide show on my website, and having problems trying to modify the display.

I know zilch about javascript, just copied this from a friend's site, swapped in my own pix.

Now I am trying to add more pix, but anything I add beyond the original five shows up simultaneously with the adjacent pic.

The working version may be observed here http://www.ShakespeareInTheAlley.com

What I'm trying is just adding a line to the 0-4 rotation.

TIA
Dennis

ddadmin
06-02-2007, 04:05 AM
cwcorl, yes, the images have to be uploaded separately. You can confirm that they are uploaded by trying to directly access them in your browser, such as by going to:


http://www.mysite.com/images/pet.gif

etc.

Dendasaro, did you remember to increment the array index each time you add a new image, for example:


fadeimages[3]="images/denclarencecrop.jpg"
fadeimages[4]="images/denvioletbig.jpg"
fadeimages[5]="images/denclarencecrop4.jpg"
fadeimages[6]="images/denvioletbig5.jpg"

dendasaro
06-05-2007, 02:06 AM
Oh, you guys! Did I remember to "increment the array index"......you mean, did I renumber the pix? Yes, I did.
Here is the thing misbehaving www.ShakespeareInTheAlley.com/index2.html
Thanks for having a look at this problem.

dendasaro
06-08-2007, 01:24 AM
By now I'm supposing you are stumped (which I doubt!) or you are mad because I sassed your jargonizing.
All right! I apologize, already!

Maybe you're just gone fishing.............

ddadmin
06-08-2007, 07:04 PM
Dendasaro:
Ok, I think I know what you're referring to now. This isn't an error in the script or the way you've set it up. Simply, the 5th image within your slideshow (flower2.gif)) is extremely small compared to all the other images. Due to the manner in which the script preloads the next image within the slide each time the current one is shown, this image appears to be showing concurrently with another image.

You can verify this by swapping out flower2.gif with an image that's similar in size to the rest of the images, and see if the problem persists.

dendasaro
06-11-2007, 12:26 PM
Hi again
Dang it! That sounded logical --- but it's still acting up. Seems not to be strictly file size, and still inconsistent. Added 3 pix to the sample www.shakespearinthealley.com/index2.html. Array line (6) works, lines (2) and (7) don't.

Thanks