PDA

View Full Version : Help with virtual pagination



bluetrane_uk
05-30-2007, 03:49 PM
Ok...

I have two problems with the virtual pagination scripts...

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/virtualpagination.htm

One) It works fine in firefox and opera and safari... but does not work at all in the new ie7...

two) i am using scripts which now cause a pop-up in IE warning about active activex that may harm the computer...


Help me please :(

bluetrane_uk
05-30-2007, 04:11 PM
Perhaps I should make it clearer what my problem is heh...

Basically, in firefox the script works exactly as it should. But in IE the pagination basically doesn't work. The little box contains all the words it should and then some words bleed out of it that are from two or three pages later...

Also, I get the activex warning... which obviously I would prefer my website visitors not to have to deal with - in case they click 'don't allow' and none of the buttons work.

Jasper
07-19-2007, 06:35 PM
I need some help too on this site:
http://www.frisblik.nl/tips/index.php

When you go to page three for example, and choose a topic on the right, you go back to page one. Is there a way to stay on page three at that moment?

ddadmin
07-19-2007, 10:01 PM
To Jasper:
Please start a new thread in the future when asking a question. Regarding your issue, basically what you need is a way to tell the script which virtual page to show by default based on some parameter on the page matching what you wish to accomplish. One way is to pass such a parameter through the URLs of the topics on the right, for example:

http://www.frisblik.nl/tips/2007/07/11/tip20.php?page=2

The "page=2" parameter would indicate to the script that it should load the 3rd virtual page. Then on top20.php, you'd grab that value (2), and pass it into the showpage() method of virtual pagination script when initializing it to show that page, something like:


var pagenumber=value_of_page_parameter_in_url

var pagecontent=new virtualpaginate("virtualpage", 1)
pagecontent.buildpagination("paginatediv")
pagecontent.showpage(pagenumber)

The line in italics is just a mockup- there are many techniques for getting the value of a URL parameter. Some are shown here: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=22753