PDA

View Full Version : Ajax tabs with Virtual Pagination??



Chris_1981
05-29-2007, 08:44 PM
1) Script Title: Ajax tabs / Virtual Pagination script

2) Script URL (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/ + http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/virtualpagination.htm):

3) Describe problem:

Well im working on a website where im using the Ajax tabs script, and it works fine!

Then i have created a "News" page that has the Virtual Pagination script, and that aslo works fine!

So i have two perfectly working pages.

Now the problem comes when i Load the "News" page with the Virtual Pagination script into the "ajaxcontentarea" with the Ajax tabs script.

What happens is that it only loads the "Buttons" , "Prev" and "Next", and none of the content on that page.

Id manage to make this work by adding the "Paging" script into the Index page, however then another problem showed up.

When i open the website the "#default" content show and all scripts work and i got happy for a short while, then i clicked on another link on the site and then clicked back to the "#default" page and the same problem, no content showed up..

What can i do here... Or is it that these script doesnt work together?

Thanks
Chris

ddadmin
05-30-2007, 03:38 PM
The problem is that the Ajax Tabs Content script cannot load any JavaScripts that may be defined inside the page to load. This is a limitation of Ajax, more so in IE than Firefox.

The easiest way is to use an iframe based script instead to load the desired content, such as http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex3/tabdocviewer.htm

Mongoose
06-01-2007, 05:06 AM
Hi! I have been having a similar problem to you Chris. Are you using the RSS feeder? Thats what I'm trying to get loading via AJAX. I was reading the post here:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=17426

Surely it must be possible to do something similar. I am not familiar with java, only recently have I been using it more. Surely it must be a possibility to use an onload window function? I'm looking into it. I'll keep you posted!

Also, if you don't have so much content chris, you could use the non-ajax version of the same tab system. I've found that there has been problems once it has approached 1000 lines of HTML. I'm rendering through a portal sytem however, so that is more likely causing a problem than the script.

Mongoose
06-01-2007, 06:07 AM
I've managed to get the lightbox script working using the tutorial provided. Now there must be a way for RSS too. This is encouragement!