PDA

View Full Version : Featured Content Slider to use REAL URLS in the buttons



Acts7
05-15-2007, 07:00 AM
1) Script Title:
Featured Content Slider

2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/featuredcontentslider.htm

3) Describe problem:
I am trying to assign each of the buttons to have a unique URL.
Meaning "1" "2" "3" "4" would be linked to ("http://www.1.com", "http://www.2.com", "http://www.3.com", "http://www.4.com") = RESPECTIVELY.
Im talking about the actual navigation linking to something other than "#" and being able to assign that.

ddadmin
05-15-2007, 08:53 AM
Sure, try the attached contentslider.js instead. It adds an optional 5th parameter, that, if defined, uses the links specified for the nav links (not clickable). Pass in an array of links for this parameter.

For example,


ContentSlider("slider1", "", "", "", ['http://google.com', 'http://cnn.com', 'http://yahoo.com'])

plimfec
07-13-2007, 07:03 PM
Thanks. I was looking for the same feature. But could you also make it possible to actually make the navigation links clickable?

I think I like it particularly when a mouseover switches you to manual use, and a click brings you to a defined website (like the ['http://google.com', 'http://cnn.com', 'http://yahoo.com'] in your example).

It would be so nice when this was possible:

var linktext=["<a href='http://www.nu.nl'>first</a><br>", "<a href='http://www.google.com'>second</a><br>", "<a href='http://www.cnn.com'>third</a><br>"]

Thnx

ddadmin
07-14-2007, 06:56 AM
Plimfec:
If you mean modify the navigational links so that moving your mouse over them toggles the contents, and clicking on them goes to the actual URLs themselves, sure. Just use the attached modified contentslider.js. Then, when you specify the URLs for the nav links, clicking on them will now go to them:


ContentSlider("slider1", 3000, "", "", ['http://google.com', 'http://cnn.com', 'http://yahoo.com'])

plimfec
07-14-2007, 09:12 AM
Yes! This is exactly what I meant. Thanks a lot for your solution, it's working great!

mamaduck
11-19-2007, 07:40 PM
Hi, I have downloaded the contentslider.js with the real URL option as described above, and it is working great!

However, I would like to have the mouseover state be different from the look of the tab as it cycles automatically (the ".pagination a.selected" style) When I was using the unmodified contentslider.js file, I had this working fine by creating a separate .pagination a:hover style.

The modified/customized files can be found here:

http://v-linkstudio.com/macey/

mamaduck
11-19-2007, 07:54 PM
The above problem is only an issue in Firefox. Again, I hope I did the right thing by posting my question here.

ddadmin
11-20-2007, 09:22 AM
Hi, I have downloaded the contentslider.js with the real URL option as described above, and it is working great!

However, I would like to have the mouseover state be different from the look of the tab as it cycles automatically (the ".pagination a.selected" style) When I was using the unmodified contentslider.js file, I had this working fine by creating a separate .pagination a:hover style.

The modified/customized files can be found here:

http://v-linkstudio.com/macey/

From what I can tell, the issue is simply that the mouseover tab becomes the selected tab as well when you roll the mouse over each tab. If you wish the mouseover tab CSS to take precedence over the selected tab's CSS, try reversing their positions in your CSS:


.pagination a.selected{
color: #fff;
background-image:url(images/tabs/onbg.gif);
border-bottom:1px solid rgb(169,169,169);
}

.pagination a:hover{
color: rgb(149,149,149);
background-image:url(images/tabs/overbg.gif);
background-repeat:none;
border-bottom:1px solid rgb(169,169,169);
}