PDA

View Full Version : Help Combining 2 DD Scripts To Get A Certain Effect



wooby6797
05-12-2007, 11:32 AM
1) Script Title:
- Ajax Tabs Content
- Featured Content Slider

2) Script URL (on DD):
- http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/index.htm
- http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/featuredcontentslider.htm

3) Describe problem:
I'm not the strongest developer in the world so I definitely need some help here. Anything you can offer would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

I'm trying to combine these two DD scripts to create AJAX Tabs with content in them that fade or rotate out, but you can still use the "controls" to manually navigate them, too.

Basically, I'm trying to create a "Carousel" style Feature Content Loader that is not Flash, but works and looks like this:

http://www.cnet.com/
http://www.download.com/

I tried snagging the pieces from their scripts, but it is way too complex and there are too many parts to it.

Thanks, again, for any help

-Adam

jscheuer1
05-12-2007, 03:13 PM
See:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13003

The content slider doesn't have an onload initialization per se though. It uses this bit of code (from the demo page, essential part highlighted red):


<script type="text/javascript">
//Define: ContentSlider("slider_ID", [autorotate_miliseconds], [custompaginatelinkstext], [customnextlinktext])
ContentSlider("slider1")
//OR ContentSlider("slider1", 3000)
//OR ContentSlider("slider1", 3000, linktextarray)
//OR ContentSlider("slider1", 3000, linktextarray, "Foward")
//OR ContentSlider("slider1", "", linktextarray)
//OR ContentSlider("slider1", "", "", "Foward")
</script>

To initialize the slider once its HTML portion has been written to the page by the Ajax script.

wooby6797
05-12-2007, 06:03 PM
I kind of understand more. I found this on the DD page for the AJAX Tab Content. Is this relevant?


Selecting a tab dynamically
You can dynamically select a tab anywhere on the page by calling the method:

expandtab(tabcontentid, tabnumber)

Is there a way that I can use the DD Content Fader with this code to call or cycle through the tabs generated by the AJAX Tabs code? Will that work?