PDA

View Full Version : DHTML Window widget: Pop up once per browser session only?

sajr
05-10-2007, 07:09 PM
Script: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex8/dhtmlwindow/index.htm (added by ddadmin this time).

I am trying to make a website for the staff at a school, and it can only be accessed locally - it's not posted on the web. I used the "DHTML Window widget" from this site to make a pup-up when you open the home page, so it shows pictures when ever the staff open the site. The problem is - it can get annoying when it opens this image every time you go back to the home page. For a demonstration, go to Windows and Frames on Dynamic Driva, and click on DHTML Modal window. Try clicking back and forward - it just takes time, when the staff could just disable it not to show until the next day, or until the browser is closed and then reload the next time the browser opens. Does anyone know how this can be made? I'm new to DHTML and JavaScript, so I can't come up with something myself. If anyone can help me, that would be appreciated. I need this ASAP.

ddadmin
05-10-2007, 09:48 PM
Warning: Please include a link to the DD script in question in your post. See this thread (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=6) for the proper posting format when asking a question.

Try the below modified dhtmlwindow.js file instead, which adds support for session only persistence, so you can set a window to only pop up once per browser session. This is realized by a new optional parameter at the very end of dhtmlwindow.open(). Whereas before you had something like:

var googlewin=dhtmlwindow.open("googlebox", "iframe", "http://images.google.com/", "#1: Google Web site", "width=590px,height=350px,resize=0,scrolling=1,center=1", "recal")

To get this window to only pop up once per browser session, throw in a new parameter at the very end: