PDA

View Full Version : ANYLINK DropDown - Done, but with errors on page



joejubee2
05-08-2007, 03:34 PM
1) Script Title:
AnyLink Drop Down Menu

2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/dropmenuindex.htm

3) Location of page with problem:
http://www.joefreelance.com/2007/Copy%20of%20Index.html
(Dropdown located under Services test in top menu)

3) Describe problem:
So I have the AnylinkDropdown menu on the test page listed above. It works fine, however I get the alert image at the bottom left of my browser saying, "Done but with errors on page" when I click that, I get:

Line: 175
Char: 1
Error: 'source' is undefined
Code: 0
Url: http://www.joefreelance.com/2007/Copy%20of%20Index.html

This error only shows up if you mouseover the "services" link (thus, launching the menu) while the page is loading up... I don't know if this has to do with the fact that the text link "Services" that generates the menu is located in a cell that has a mouseover command that changes the cell's background color...

It's strange 'cause it's a periodic thing, and it seems to happen when you rollover the services text from bottom to top slowly...

Any ideas folks?

By the way- great script!

Joe

PS- running IE6, XPPro...

Veronica
05-08-2007, 06:41 PM
It wierd, but I only get the error message in IE6 if I let the flash animation run. If I block it, there's no error message. Do you have any scripts associated with the animation and IE? Maybe there's a conflict with that?

joejubee2
05-08-2007, 07:15 PM
The only script that I have associated with the flash animation is the ieupdate.js background info here (http://www.webmasterworld.com/flash/3127590.htm)to deal with the "click here to activate" error/bug with embedding swfs...

Yea, it's too strange...

Thanks for taking the time to look, though!

Joe

Veronica
05-08-2007, 08:55 PM
The only other thing I can think of is that any script using offsetTop of offsetLeft, is buggy in IE when there are tables. And you've got that navigation part inside a table. So you could try re-working that top portion to use only divs, and not tables. On the other hand, there are no guarantees that will fix it, and the script is working even in IE (in spite of the warning) so you may not feel it's worth the trouble.

jpanizzoli
12-17-2008, 09:09 PM
I'm having the exact same problem with my AnyLink Drop Down Menu. Everything appears to be working fine, but I get random "Done but with errors on page" messages when I navigate throughout the site.

The dropdowns are in the left navigation and the messages come up randomly on different pages. Some pages don't get the error at first, but then when you return - the error comes up...

http://www.eco-wheelz.com

Very confused... thanks for your help!

ddadmin
12-17-2008, 10:15 PM
I see the error, though unfortunately the error message IE displays is as cryptic as it comes, so I can't say for sure what it's referring to yet. However, my guess is the code in red in each of your anchor links:


onclick="return clickreturnvalue(http://www.eco-wheelz.com/catalog/eg-electric-bikes-c-1_36.php)"

The code in red shouldn't be there. That is to say, it should just be return clickreturnvalue().

jpanizzoli
12-18-2008, 05:00 AM
Thanks for your help! You're right... after I removed this code the error disappeared. But I added this code so the dropdown text would link to a page when it was clicked. After I removed it, the link text didn't work...

To clarify: The drop down menu (and all drop down links) work. But I want the drop down heading to link to a page as well.

jpanizzoli
12-18-2008, 05:15 AM
I think I found a resolution... but I just want to make sure it won't cause me problems later down the road...

Instead of returning the onClick element back to onClick="return clickreturnvalue()" , I changed it to onClick="". This accomplished what I wanted (now the dropdown heading is clickable), but I'm not sure if it will cause problems with other elements or functions of AnyLink.

Will this be OK?


<a href="http://www.url.com" onclick="" onmouseover="dropdownmenu(this, event, menu1, '160px')" onmouseout="delayhidemenu()"><i>Link Text</i></a>

jscheuer1
12-18-2008, 05:24 AM
It's OK, but better yet would be to remove it entirely:


<a href="http://www.url.com" onmouseover="dropdownmenu(this, event, menu1, '160px')" onmouseout="delayhidemenu()"><i>Link Text</i></a>