PDA

View Full Version : [UPDATED] Slashdot Menu

Ictinus
05-06-2007, 04:25 PM
Moved From Thread: http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14497

Ok so here's a link http://www.ictinus.com/sdNestedMenu/menu1.html

As it is based on DimX's sdmenu and therefore isn't all my original work, I wasn't sure if it should be submitted to DD.

Cheers,
Ictinus

slisar
05-16-2007, 01:46 PM
Hi Ictinus,

I have followed a couple threads on the slashdot menu and I think your link: http://www.ictinus.com/sdNestedMenu/menu1.html is a great demo of what can be done with it.

I am not an experienced programmer in java and am not even sure about css programming and i was wondering if there is a way of editing this meny system simply to include on a website.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Steve Slisar

Ictinus
05-17-2007, 10:42 AM
Steve,
I've created a 'simple example' page which is just the menu with Slashdot styling without all the demo bits.
http://www.ictinus.com/sdNestedMenu/simple_example.html

If you include the: link, script, and body 'onload' elements from this example in your page, along with the 'sdmenu' div somewhere on your page, you should be just about there.

The files required along with the example are:

sdnestedmenu.js
sdcollapsed.gif
sdcollapsedOn.gif
sdexpanded.gif
sdexpandedOn.gif

and these if you want the Slashdot style:
sdnestedmenu1.css
sdtitle.gif
sdtitle2.gif

or this if you want the Flatdot style:

sdnestedmenu2.css

The only file you should *need* to modify is the html file for you menu contents, but you may want to modify the .css files to change the colours/images.

I hope that helps.
ps. I think you meant 'Javascript' not 'Java'. Two different things.

pilotsnipes
06-11-2007, 03:13 PM
Thanks so much for doing this menu. I really needed the nested facility and it works lovely.

However I have 2 small problems.