PDA

View Full Version : Ajx Tab Content Script problem in IE7



cancanoff
04-23-2007, 04:30 PM
1) Script Title:
Ajax Tabs Content script

2) Script URL (on DD):
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/index.htm

3) Describe problem:

I download the script from
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/ajaxtabscontent/ajaxtabscontent.zip

Unzip and upload to my servers.
When I click on on others tabs
e.g bird, dog, cat etc
It will open the content in a new page, not inside the tab window.
Why is that?
It worked well in FF, but not in both of my laptop that is using IE 7
Link to the files in my server
http:// www . e d m o n d w o n g .com/edwin2/demo.htm
Thanks

Regards

jscheuer1
04-23-2007, 06:42 PM
Works fine here. Are you using Vista? How does the demo on DD work for you in IE?

cancanoff
04-23-2007, 06:52 PM
Sigh.. wondering why
Its not working in my laptop Windows Vista IE and also my desktop Windows XP IE7

jscheuer1
04-23-2007, 08:29 PM
If the demo on the Dynamic Drive site doesn't work for you, it is either a setting in your browsers or something to do with a firewall or other gateway type program like an anti virus suite you run on both computers. Do you have any third party programs like that. Popular ones are Pctools and MacFee.

cancanoff
04-24-2007, 08:50 AM
hi
Probably wont use the script, as I am worry that others users might experience the same.....
sigh

jscheuer1
04-24-2007, 02:03 PM
hi
Probably wont use the script, as I am worry that others users might experience the same.....
sigh

That is, of course, your choice but, any script can be made to not work if a user's computer and/or programs are configured in a certain way or ways. If it is just a browser setting, then you probably are using a non-standard setting. That would mean that most users wouldn't have the problem you have. In fact, any popular script like this one in the DD library probably will work for most users in the browsers that it is rated for. If it doesn't, we get numerous bug reports.

One thing you could try with this script (if it isn't a browser setting problem) would be to change:


function ajaxpage(url, containerid, targetobj){
var page_request = false
if (window.XMLHttpRequest) // if Mozilla, Safari etc
page_request = new XMLHttpRequest()
else if (window.ActiveXObject){ // if IE
try {
page_request = new ActiveXObject("Msxml2.XMLHTTP")
}
catch (e){
try{
page_request = new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP")
}
catch (e){}
}
}
else
return false

to:


function ajaxpage(url, containerid, targetobj){
var page_request = false
if (window.ActiveXObject){ // if IE
try {
page_request = new ActiveXObject("Msxml2.XMLHTTP")
}
catch (e){
try{
page_request = new ActiveXObject("Microsoft.XMLHTTP")
}
catch (e){}
}
}
else if (window.XMLHttpRequest) // if Mozilla, Safari etc
page_request = new XMLHttpRequest()
else
return false