PDA

View Full Version : Tab content and images



sgt
09-23-2004, 09:43 PM
i want to know how I could use the tab content script located at http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/tabcontent.htm with images. I actaully know how to actaully make it work using the image map, but i was wondering if any of you knew what script i needed to change of the backroundcolor theme in order to make it like an image theme, so i can have the image change instead of the bg color like in the example given there, i hope to use it with my image http://maccess.vzz.net/tabbar.png I repeat though that all i really need help with is the theme part of the script on changing how the tabs look so that it will basically be able to change the backround color change to an image change since i am already able to combine the actual script otherwise with the image map of my site. Thanks to any who reply, and double thanks to any who are actually able to help. :D It appears that anti-hotlinking functions i suppose make you unable to see the image i am using with the script?

Oh, and for some reason i don't know, although the content is on sperate divs, the content still goes down the length of what the content in the tab before that goes, so i would use the sc1 and it will be 2 lines and then sc2 will start after where that 2 lines ended on sc1, where sc2 has another 2 lines of text then sc3 will start four lines down and ect.

ddadmin
09-24-2004, 08:08 PM
Hmmm currently the theme only supports the changing of a tab's background color, but not background image. We'll consider enhancing this script for it in the future.

BTW, we'll soon be releasing an update to this script to support persistence using cookies, so clicking on a tab then going to another page won't cause the tabs to lose its place when the visitor returns.

sgt
09-24-2004, 08:18 PM
Thanks for listening, i am sure i can intergrate the simple table backround function with my website if i try. The cookies use sounds really cool, and i need to work on my ability to edit code so I can fix the thing with my content going down for some reason probably caused by my meddling in it in the first place xD. Thanks for the quick reply though ddadmin, I hope to maybe because i little part of the community if at all possible, learning a little on code through reading and replying on thread :-)

ddadmin
09-24-2004, 08:57 PM
Regarding the "content going down" problem, what browser are you using? I've seen this in Mozilla in certain cases depending on the content. Seems like a bug with the browser, and not the script. If you have a link to problem, I can check it out as well.

amvmendoza
10-01-2004, 05:34 PM
First off, just wanted to tell you that this script is great!

I just have a problem with the tabs.I was able to get the tables to line up on the left side but not able to figure out how to keep the tabs the same size.
If anyone can help me out with this code, that would be Awesome. Or at least a work around it.

I want theTabs to line up vertially and have the same box width regardless of the size of the text inhabiting it.

Thanks in advance.

ddadmin
10-02-2004, 10:28 AM
Hi amvmendoza:
If I understood you correctly, a simple CSS width declaration within the following should do it:


#tablist li a{
padding: 3px 0.5em;
width: 150px;
margin-left: 3px;
border: 1px solid #778;
border-bottom: none;
background: white;
}
Notice the "width" attribute.

JF sly
10-04-2004, 07:07 PM
To use the menu (or a similar one with images, look at this script:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/ddtabmenu2.htm

or possibly this one:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/jimmenu/index.htm

sgt
10-06-2004, 03:24 AM
Thanks Sly for the reply, i will try to put that in with it, and if i cant manage to get it to work i will give you an url to the code i have, plus the thing is rollover, how exactly should i make it on click? I suppose i can try and figure that on my own, congrats on your cookie enabled tabs, sorry to say though that i will not be using that. First the person needs cookies enabled and plus since i am using it for the main page someone could hit like the about tab and then go to another page and anytime thereafter that they come to the main page again, they will see the about content :-P

sgt
10-06-2004, 06:53 AM
I have my page i am trying to put it on here http://maccess.vzz.net/tibia.php , sorry but i do not know how bad the popups are as i always have them blocked..? in any case, nevermind how messy the page is and all, i have been fiddling with the code and everything so it looks very messy, but if you can look you can see how the text goes up or down in order of content when the tabs are clicked, it looks like the image is trying to change if you look around where you click, because you can see a kind of light black outline in the shape of a box, but as of yet this is all i have and decided to just post it up here to see if any of you could help.