PDA

View Full Version : hvmenu appear under my drop down list



liyenn
04-13-2007, 04:09 AM
1) Script Title: HVMENU

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/hvmenu/

3) Describe problem:

hi, there is a drop down list below my HVMenu. As the HVMenu shows its drop down child, it appears under my drop down list. This problem appears in IE browser, it is ok in FireFox.

What can i do to solve this problem???

thetestingsite
04-14-2007, 02:13 AM
Try changing the z-index property in your css file. Make the menu have a larger value than anything else on the page.

Hope this helps.

liyenn
04-17-2007, 03:01 AM
Try changing the z-index property in your css file. Make the menu have a larger value than anything else on the page.

Hope this helps.

thanks for your reply!

i've tried on your suggestion...

however, the problem is not solved...

do you have any other idea?

espelund
04-19-2007, 06:25 PM
I have the same problem happening with Cool DHTML Tooltip II (http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex5/dhtmltooltip2.htm)

I've tried setting the z-index higher and it doesn't work. Even when I set the lists with a negative z-index the tooltip still appears behind them in IE. Very annoying.

espelund
04-19-2007, 08:06 PM
See the attached screenshot of this issue in IE 6. Doesn't happen in FF.

espelund
04-20-2007, 04:17 PM
A lot of people are looking at this page, but few have replied. I'm new to the forum, so is there some additional information that I can provide or can someone suggest a different approach to finding a solution to our issue?

Thanks in advance for helping a newbie.

jscheuer1
04-20-2007, 06:23 PM
I have the same problem happening with Cool DHTML Tooltip II (http://dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex5/dhtmltooltip2.htm)

I've tried setting the z-index higher and it doesn't work. Even when I set the lists with a negative z-index the tooltip still appears behind them in IE. Very annoying.

This came up before. Here is a demo from that:

http://home.comcast.net/~jscheuer1/side/cool_image_tooltip_II_shim.htm

As you can see from the background around the pointer, it isn't ideal. A better solution would be to move the tooltip away from the select element.

This was first put forth here:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showpost.php?p=30456&postcount=4

natesh
07-13-2007, 06:35 AM
1) Script Title: HVMENU

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/hvmenu/

3) Describe problem:

hi, there is a drop down list below my HVMenu. As the HVMenu shows its drop down child, it appears under my drop down list. This problem appears in IE browser, it is ok in FireFox.

What can i do to solve this problem???
In IE (6 and previous versions), the drop down control is a windowed control and layer or z-index properties can not be applied on this control. Always this control will be put above all other document level controls. Only way to get rid of this is to hide the drop down list controls using javascript whenever we use the menu.

This is what i have done in my HV Menu javascript file to avoid the dropdown problem.

function hideSelects()
{
var aSelects = document.getElementsByTagName( "select" );
var nSelects = aSelects.length;
for( var i=0; i<nSelects; i++ )
{
eSelect = aSelects[ i ];
eSelect.style.visibility = "hidden";
}
}

function showSelects()
{
var aSelects = document.getElementsByTagName( "select" );
var nSelects = aSelects.length;
for( var i=0; i<nSelects; i++ )
{
eSelect = aSelects[ i ];
eSelect.style.visibility = "visible";
}
}

u hav to call these functions in openMenu and closeMenu functions respectively

u can improve this code by hiding only the controls which are overlapping with the menu list.

hope this helps