PDA

View Full Version : MM_swapImage and Safari

david b
04-10-2007, 07:35 PM
Hi,
I've used the MM_SwapImage function from Dreamweaver to make a roll over gallery for a photography website. The only problem is when I use safari it changes the aspect ratio of the images.

Here's the link:
http://www.lizethsantos.com/fineart/abstract/abstract.html

Any solutions?
Thanks

djr33
04-10-2007, 10:46 PM
Not sure on how to solve this, but I will say that it's the same here for me. It starts off ok, but then I go over one that is a different size and they all start conforming to that size. Someone should have an answer soon.
I suggest, though, that you should look at dynamically changing the size of the image in addition to changing the src, if you have not already done so.

david b
04-11-2007, 05:45 PM
I have fooled around a bit but am unable to really understand the function (since I'm pretty new to javascript). I could really use an experienced coder to comment the code for me! Then maybe I could make some headway on my own.

The Main function:

function MM_swapImage() { //v3.0
var i,j=0,x,a=MM_swapImage.arguments; document.MM_sr=new Array; for(i=0;i<(a.length-2);i+=3)
if ((x=MM_findObj(a[i]))!=null){document.MM_sr[j++]=x; if(!x.oSrc) x.oSrc=x.src; x.src=a[i+2];}
}

which calls

function MM_findObj(n, d) { //v4.01
var p,i,x; if(!d) d=document; if((p=n.indexOf("?"))>0&&parent.frames.length) {
d=parent.frames[n.substring(p+1)].document; n=n.substring(0,p);}
if(!(x=d[n])&&d.all) x=d.all[n]; for (i=0;!x&&i<d.forms.length;i++) x=d.forms[i][n];
for(i=0;!x&&d.layers&&i<d.layers.length;i++) x=MM_findObj(n,d.layers[i].document);
if(!x && d.getElementById) x=d.getElementById(n); return x;
}

Bob90
04-11-2007, 09:49 PM
I'm not sure if I understand, so take this with a pinch of salt

But basically the swapimage function allows lots of arguments to be passed at once and tries to swap all the srcs of the images.