PDA

View Full Version : Pausing rss scroller help



Karabaja
04-04-2007, 03:03 PM
1) Script Title:
Pausing rss scroller
2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex17/rsspausescroller/

3) Describe problem:

First off, I am having trouble with this specific feed:

http://www.netzeitung.de/export/news/rss/bundesliga.xml

Scroller displays same date for all messages: Jan 1 1970

Another thing is allowed domains. Even though I have set my domain in scrollerbridge.php. I tried making a test page on a friends server with iframe to a page on my site, and it displays the scroller fine. I don't want anyone hotlinking to scrollers on my site. Any help would be appreciated. Maybe .htaccess solution to restricting a specific file which I am not sure how it should look like.

ddadmin
04-05-2007, 12:06 AM
Regarding the date issue, do you have a URL to the problem page? Regarding the hotlinking issue, if your scroller is inside an iframe page that is on your own server, technically, it isn't being hotlinked, despite the fact that the iframe is in turn put on a page that's of another domain's. This is a loophole I guess, but it's very similar to the situation with your page being "framed", for example. You could use a break out of frames/iframes script on the pages on your site that uses the scroller.

Karabaja
04-05-2007, 10:54 AM
This is the link:

http://soccer.sat-universe.com/soccernews.html

German bundesliga tab.

Another thing while we are at it. A text inside scrollers appeares bolded in FF, and fills out the frame nicely. But in IE text isn't bolded and only takes about half of the frame.

P.S. if you could pls give me a link to break out of frames/iframes script, I couldn't find it.


Thanks for helping.

ddadmin
04-06-2007, 12:42 AM
This seems to be a problem with a specific feed, and not the script. For example, I'm only seeing the date issue with the feed "German..." And in IE7, I don't get the bold issue you were talking about.

Here's a break out of frames script (http://www.javascriptkit.com/script/cut36.shtml). I haven't tried it on iframe pages though, so it may need to be tweaked.

Karabaja
04-06-2007, 01:59 AM
Thanks for the link. Break out of frames script works. But the problem is that it works on my domain too :). So it will break out of frame if I use a page as a frame on my site too. Is there any way to add a conditional to break out of frame only if it is external domain loading the page.

And here is screenshots of what it looks like to me regarding letters. Letters seem much smaller with IE. That's IE6 though.

FF
930

IE
931

ddadmin
04-06-2007, 08:49 AM
For the iframe issue, try modifying the line:


if (window.location.href.indexOf('soccer.sat-universe.com')==-1 && window!= top)

The code in red is new.

Regarding the bold issue, my guess is the feed in question contains an invalid HTML tag (ie: an unclosed <b> tag) that's causing IE to freak out. Which RSS feed is that? I'll look at the source of the feed a bit later.

Karabaja
04-06-2007, 10:34 AM
I've tried modifying frame script but it didn't work. I've opened the frame on friend's site fine. But it caused IE to freeze on mine.
As to bold issue, it is same thing with all feeds, but it is not that important.