PDA

View Full Version : Drop In Slide Show



snowpak
03-30-2007, 06:51 PM
1) Script Title: Drop In Slide Show

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex14/dropitslide.htm

3) Describe problem: I don't understand the following:

//Define Image Array. Syntax: ["image_path" (is this where my images are located????), "url_destination" (what does this mean? would I put my url of the page that i want the script to appear on, i.e. www.stacygrant.com/index?), "url_target" I have no idea what this means, could you give me an example?]
var myimages=new Array()
myimages[0]=["photo1.jpg", "", ""] what goes inside of these blank quotes?
myimages[1]=["photo2.jpg", "http://www.dynamicdrive.com", ""] what goes inside of this blank quote
myimages[2]=["photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] does anything go before the underscore and new?

boogyman
03-30-2007, 07:11 PM
"image_path" (is this where my images are located????),
YES


"url_destination" (what does this mean? would I put my url of the page that i want the script to appear on, i.e. www.stacygrant.com/index?),
YES the page you want it to appear on


"url_target" I have no idea what this means,
this is asking if you are using an iframe... the target="__FRAME_(url_target)_ID__" is where that would be placed




myimages[0]=["photo1.jpg", "", ""] what goes inside of these blank quotes?
myimages[1]=["photo2.jpg", "http://www.dynamicdrive.com", ""] what goes inside of this blank quote
myimages[2]=["photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"] does anything go before the underscore and new?


those are the 3 ways of calling the function... the last one is complete, and no _new refers to a brand new page

_top = this page(global) eg... breaks out of any frame
_blank = new page
_self = this page(local) eg... will parse inside an iframe
_parent = :-/ brain cramp...

those are 4 that are given by the method, however if you create a frame / inline frame you can give it a name (<iframe name="__">) then by which you can use anything you wish as the target... By default if you specify a name of a target and it is not one of the global 4 or one specified inside the page, the default is _top.

jscheuer1
03-30-2007, 08:27 PM
You got a lot of that right pissa.

One thing you got wrong was:

"url_destination"

That is the URL of a page that you would like to load as a link for that image - like, if you click on the image.

If all you want is the basic slide show, just leave the second two array items blank:


myimages[0]=["photo1.jpg", "", ""]

If you want the image linked, provide the url_destination:


myimages[1]=["photo2.jpg", "http://www.dynamicdrive.com", ""]

If you want to target a frame, a new window or anything other than the page itself, use a target for that link:


myimages[2]=["photo3.jpg", "http://www.javascriptkit.com", "_new"]

You had this right (except for the brain cramp and that garbage about __FRAME_(url_target)_ID__ ):

Possible values for the third item (target) on each line:
name = name of a frame, window or iframe
_top = this page(global) eg... breaks out of any frame
_blank = new page
_self = this page(local) eg... will parse inside an iframe
_parent = the page immediately containing this page, if any, or if not, same as _self

Targets are meaningless unless a link is supplied in the second item on the line.

snowpak
03-31-2007, 02:14 AM
I'm getting this error now:
Line 506
Error 'dropinslideshow' is undefined

I downloaded the js script to my hard drive and clicked on it, but I didn't see anything happen.

I cleaned up the syntax..this is what i have now for a simple slide show:
You'll see the image location is very long, but that is what I was told to put in. I'm also using the server space on register.com if that makes a difference. It's a 5 page website with templates, but it has open space for coding.

Any more hints are very much appreciated.

stacy

<script type="text/javascript" src="dropinslideshow.js">

/***********************************************
* Drop-in Slideshow Script- Dynamic Drive (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice must stay intact for legal use.
* Visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
***********************************************/

</script><script type="text/javascript">

//Define Image Array. Syntax: ["image_path", "url_destination", "url_target"]
var myimages=new Array()
myimages[0]=["http://www.stacygrant.com/db1/00013/stacygrant.com/_uimages/M.Jacobswithball1small.jpg", "", ""]
myimages[1]=["http://www.stacygrant.com/db1/00013/stacygrant.com/_uimages/journeylead.jpg", "", ""]
myimages[2]=["http://www.stacygrant.com/db1/00013/stacygrant.com/_uimages/playinaction.jpg", "", ""]

//Create new drop-in slideshow
//Syntax: new dropinslideshow(image_array, slideshow_width, slideshow_height, delay_before_rotation)
new dropinslideshow(myimages, 200, 250, 3000)

</script>

jscheuer1
03-31-2007, 05:49 AM
Your code is basically OK but, one part goes in the head and one part goes in the body. Also, the dimensions (highlighted red) should match the the largest width and largest height:


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/1999/REC-html401-19991224/loose.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<title></title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<script type="text/javascript" src="dropinslideshow.js">

/***********************************************
* Drop-in Slideshow Script- Dynamic Drive (www.dynamicdrive.com)
* This notice must stay intact for legal use.
* Visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com/ for full source code
***********************************************/

</script>
</head>
<body>
<script type="text/javascript">

//Define Image Array. Syntax: ["image_path", "url_destination", "url_target"]
var myimages=new Array()
myimages[0]=["http://www.stacygrant.com/db1/00013/stacygrant.com/_uimages/M.Jacobswithball1small.jpg", "", ""]
myimages[1]=["http://www.stacygrant.com/db1/00013/stacygrant.com/_uimages/journeylead.jpg", "", ""]
myimages[2]=["http://www.stacygrant.com/db1/00013/stacygrant.com/_uimages/playinaction.jpg", "", ""]

//Create new drop-in slideshow
//Syntax: new dropinslideshow(image_array, slideshow_width, slideshow_height, delay_before_rotation)
new dropinslideshow(myimages, 432, 432, 3000)

</script>
</body>
</html>

Finally, you must download the dropinslideshow.js file (as you say you have), and place it in the same folder as your page.

ecsdomain
09-04-2007, 08:51 PM
I also get this error. I use FrontPage (using the code view). Is there something I should be aware when using FP? Maybe some script conflict?
Thank you
Edgar

jscheuer1
09-05-2007, 04:38 AM
Well, you might be able to configure FP so as to allow you to insert code like this without it mangling it so much. Read the manual or Google for help on that. Another alternative, and what I recommend in all cases like this, is to get your page looking like you want using FP but without any scripts. Save a copy of that somewhere to work on later if the need arises. Next open the page in notepad or simple text (make sure word wrap is turned off in either of these) and add the scripts in according to the installation instructions, including any customization you've added. Never load this version of the page into FP ever again. To preview it locally, use the browser. To upload it, use FTP (preferred) or your host's online uploading tool.

Here is trick I ran across* that should stop FP from changing scripts but, since I do not use FP, I haven't tested it:

In a text editor open the page whose code you wish to preserve.

At the beginning of the section of code you wish to prevent FrontPage from modifying, add the following line of code:


<!--webbot bot="HTMLMarkup" startspan -->

At the end of the code section, add the following line of code:


<!--webbot bot="HTMLMarkup" endspan -->

Save the changes to the file. The next time the file is opened in FrontPage, FrontPage will not attempt to alter the code between the two HTMLMarkup tags. You still need to put the script into the page with a text editor.

*Posted in these forums by usace-lrc and perhaps others.