PDA

View Full Version : Need Help!



Dawn7246
09-02-2004, 02:33 PM
does anyone know how I can add Mp3 Music to my webpage! Im in desperate need! Help would be appreciated!!! :o Thanks!!!! :D

cr3ative
09-02-2004, 05:35 PM
firstly, to ensure compatibility, you might need to convert to WAV format.
if you use Frontpage, you can embed sound into a page, or use this tag:

<EMBED SRC="filename" HIDDEN="TRUE" AUTOSTART="TRUE">

Hope this helps.
cr3ative

Nikkolus
09-05-2004, 08:03 AM
Yep, that's the code, these are the options.

hidden -
True: Visitors may not see the player
False: They will be able to see the player embeded in the browser

autostart -
True: The file will play as soon as the visitor goes to the page
False: The visitor will have to hit play on the player

loop -
True: The song will play over and over again
False: Will not

Of course there is also the height and width commands as well.

cr3ative
09-05-2004, 08:35 AM
Also, if you want a small media player embedded in your page, see the thread "Music Help", I submitted the code there for this purpose.

cr3ative

aw56001
11-23-2004, 04:04 PM
:( Apologies for my ignorance but where does the tag go on the page? I use Frontpage and have imported the 205horn.wav file onto the main page of my website but it doesn't work. Please could someone assist me? I have copied the first part of the page below. :(
Thanks
aw56001
<html>

<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
<meta name="GENERATOR" content="Microsoft FrontPage 4.0">
<meta name="ProgId" content="FrontPage.Editor.Document">
<title>latest_news</title>
</head>

<body bgcolor="#3366CC">



&lt;EMBED SRC="<B>205horn.wav</B>" HIDDEN="TRUE" AUTOSTART="TRUE"&gt;



<SCRIPT>
</SCRIPT>

<P align=center><I><font face="Tahoma" size="7">
<MARQUEE style="color: #FFFFFF" scrollAmount=10
scrollDelay=10>Latest News</MARQUEE></font></I></P>
<P align=center><FONT face="Tahoma" color=#ff0000 size=5><b>Page Last
Updated 21st November 2004 at 16.00</b></FONT></P>
<P align=center><FONT face="Tahoma" color=#FFFFFF size=4>&nbsp;<b>Items updated -
<h2>
<script language="JavaScript1.2">

cr3ative
11-23-2004, 05:13 PM
Lol at frontpage.

Change this:


&lt;EMBED SRC="<B>205horn.wav</B>" HIDDEN="TRUE" AUTOSTART="TRUE"&gt;

To this:

<EMBED SRC="205horn.wav" HIDDEN="TRUE" AUTOSTART="TRUE">

cr3ative

aw56001
11-24-2004, 02:18 PM
cr3ative
I originally copied and pasted the the text into the page but Frontpage changed it for some unknown reason. I have edited it and the link now works fine.
Thanks very much for your assistance, much appreciated.
aw56001

vanderhawk
01-14-2005, 05:53 AM
Maybe you guys can help me. My index, or home page's graphics/buttons do not seem to be displaying when first visiting my site. If I click on another linnk (let's say "Services") and then click on the "Home" link from the services page, everything displays properly. Very frustrating! :mad:

Try it out for yourselves. The URL is www.vanderhawk.net.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Minos
01-14-2005, 08:25 AM
...works for me, vanderhawk, in both IE and Firefox...speaking of which, what browser are you using? Your layout is dramatically different between the two, and I'm wondering which to trust....

i'm lost
01-16-2005, 10:03 PM
It works for me too. The layouts aren't drastically different for me, just some extra space in Firefox (or missing space in IE).

Minos
01-18-2005, 06:57 AM
I consider that drastic enough ;)

noobiE
07-18-2008, 06:41 PM
erm .. i m new here so i m not really sure on where to find help so hope u guys will guide me and i apogolize if i got into e wrong place=)
firstly , how do i get a bgsound that will autostart but has one start/stop button?
secondly, i wanted a left scrollingbar which i read on one of the forums is <HTML DIR="RTL"> but will this be css style?

traq
07-19-2008, 02:52 AM
cr3ative
I originally copied and pasted the the text into the page but Frontpage changed it for some unknown reason...

when you cut&paste into FrontPage, it tries to preserve the formatting. this makes sense (kinda) if you want to have what you cut-n-paste as content, but it's a real problem if you're cutting-n-pasting code. therefore, "<embed>" will come out "&lt;embed&gt;".

a quick solution is to cut-n-paste into Notepad (or some similar text editor which ignores most formatting), and then into FP. a more permanent solution (the one I eventually chose) is to use Notepad to write all your code, and stop using FP at all :)