PDA

View Full Version : cMotion will not work and i can't figure out why



carndv
02-26-2005, 12:25 AM
http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex4/cmotiongallery.htm

trying to use the cMotion image gallery script and it won't fly for what i can only guess is a very weird reason...

the script works fine for me a) here on the DD site and b) if i save the complete web page locally...

however, when i attempt my implementation here:
http://www.nallphotography.com/portfolio.php?pageID=&show=album&albumID=1

i get the javascript error:
Error: crossmain has no properties
Source File: http://www.nallphotography.com/motiongallery.js
Line: 102

this is a reference to the line in motiongallery.js:

menuwidth=parseInt(crossmain.style.width)

but it's line 101, directly above it where it is hiccuping...

crossmain=document.getElementById? document.getElementById("motioncontainer") : document.all.motioncontainer


it stands to reason that it is not finding the div id'ed as motioncontainer, but it's there...it finds it fine on 2 other implementations of the script...why can't it find it here?


<div id="motioncontainer" style="position:relative;width:400px;height:150px;overflow:hidden;margin-left:130px;">
<div id="motiongallery" style="position:absolute;left:0;top:0;white-space: nowrap;">
<nobr>

<a href="/portfolio.php?pageID=&show=photo&id=1">
<img src="images/photos/abstract_th.jpg" border="0">
</a>
<a href="/portfolio.php?pageID=&show=photo&id=2">
<img src="images/photos/aquarium_th.jpg" border="0">
</a>
<a href="/portfolio.php?pageID=&show=photo&id=3">
<img src="images/photos/P5300007_th.jpg" border="0">
</a>

<a href="/portfolio.php?pageID=&show=photo&id=7">
<img src="images/photos/P5230389_th.jpg" border="0">
</a>
</nobr>
</div>
</div>

there's the code that the javascript is working on... the div motioncontainer is there...

anybody got any ideas?

thanks in advance and mad props to you guys @ dd, you give away some great stuff...

dvc

ddadmin
03-02-2005, 07:25 PM
I no longer see Cmotion on your page: http://www.nallphotography.com/portfolio.php?pageID=&show=album&albumID=1 I'll need to see a working example of the problem.

carndv
03-02-2005, 10:36 PM
removed that gallery...

http://www.nallphotography.com/portfolio.php?pageID=&show=album&albumID=2

here's a link to a different gallery using the same implementation...

dvc