PDA

View Full Version : Chromemenu -- linking category headers



AliBean
03-09-2007, 01:10 AM
1) Script Title: Chrome CSS Drop Down

2) Script URL (on DD): http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/chrome/index.htm

3) Describe problem: I'd like to make it so I can link the drop down category headers. By default, only those headers without dropdown menus can be linked.

For example, on the script URL page (Demo 2), I'd like to make it so you can link "Resources" like you can "Home".

I've tried simply substituting the "#" with a URL, but that didn't work for me.

Thanks for any help with this, and thanks for such a great script.

akchido
03-09-2007, 01:28 AM
hi! im new here, and mi english its not good, but you can try this:
1.-"yourpage.html" or
2.-"www.yousite.com/yourpage.com"

maybe works.

and this is funny because i have one question whit the same chromemenu

but i like add many levels on it, if somebody can help me. thanks :)

thetestingsite
03-09-2007, 01:32 AM
For the first question, try adding the onclick attribute to the anchor tag. This will look something like the following:



<a href="#" onclick="window.location='http://www.dynamicdrive.com'; return false" rel="dropmenu1">Resources</a>


There is probably a better way of doing this, but I pretty sure this will work.

Not sure how to answer the second question.

Hope this helps.

AliBean
03-09-2007, 01:48 AM
Hi, thanks for the help (both of you) but it's not working. Perhaps my phrasing of the question was poor, as there is only one question.

If you go to my home page, http://www.lunabean.com , you'll see the drop down menu at the top. Even with your code inserted, I can't get the "LB" to simply click to the home page. Instead, one must select it on the drop down menu.

Any other ideas?

thetestingsite
03-09-2007, 02:08 AM
Ok, ignore what I just posted above and try the following. In the chrome.js file, find the following:



disablemenuclick: true, //when user clicks on a menu item with a drop down menu, disable menu item's link?


Change true to false. Then in your HTML code, change the anchor ref to whatever url you want (such as <a href="http://www.dynamicdrive.com">).

Tested and works. Hope this helps.

AliBean
03-09-2007, 02:23 AM
Awesome, awesome, awesome! Works beautifully. Thanks.

thetestingsite
03-09-2007, 02:24 AM
No problem, let me know if you need any more help.

scanreg
10-31-2007, 04:51 PM
Thanks for this tweak, had no idea it was in there, great to have this working :)

kham
05-22-2008, 11:53 PM
I'm having a similar problem with getting the heading button to be clickable. I set disablemenuclick: false, but it still doesn't work. The only thing that I can think that is different is that I am using images for the heading buttons. Any ideas on how this could be made to work with images would be greatly appreciated.